Back to IndieWire

Listen: Track From Clint Mansell’s ‘Filth’ Score, Will Also Tune Up ‘The Imitation Game’ Starring Benedict Cumberbatch

Listen: Track From Clint Mansell's 'Filth' Score, Will Also Tune Up 'The Imitation Game' Starring Benedict Cumberbatch

Perhaps other than Cliff Martinez, there are few modern film composers who have crossed over into recognition from the regular music world, quite like Clint Mansell. Creating iconic scores for all of Darren Aronofsky‘s films, along with “Moon,” “Last Night” (one of his more underrated efforts) and this year’s “Stoker,” his work is distinctive and other unlike anything else out there, and he continues to spread his wings in interesting directions.

Opening at the end of this month abroad, the James McAvoy starring adaptation of Irvine Welsh‘s “Filth,” in addition to a pop fuelled soundtrack, will feature a score by Mansell, and yes, it’s getting its own separate release. It drops overseas on September 23rd on all your favorite formats, and while you wait patiently for it (and the film) to arrive stateside, you can listen to the track “Poliswork” below.

Meanwhile, Mansell is moving on to his next gig, scoring the Benedict Cumberbatch starring “The Imitation Game.” Co-starring Keira Knightley, the movie from “Headhunters” helmer Morten Tyldum, is based on the biography “Alan Turing: The Enigma,” and will chronicle the life of the English multi-hyphenate — mathematician, logician, cryptanalyst, computer scientist — whose cracking of ciphers made a massive difference in World War II and whose exploration into early computer design paved the way for the technologies we have now. Hopefully the film will also touch on the criminal persecution of Turing, who identified as a homosexual. Promising stuff, and made even more intriguing with the addition of Mark Strong to the cast, with the actor teasing to the LA Times that he’s “playing the guy who knows everything.” 

So lots to look forward to from Mansell. Check out the tracklist for “Filth” below, along with the tune and a TV spot.

“Filth” Score Tracklisting

01. Winter Wonderland 2:11

02. DS Bruce Robertson 2:06
03. The Games 2:01
04. Poliswork 3:45
05. Love Is Cruel 3:52
06. Reeperbahn Madness 3:25
07. Home Is The Darkness 3:39
08. My Name Is Frank Sidebottom 3:11
09. Robbo Turns Off The Gas 5:36
10. Smokey Bacon & A Kiss Goodnight 2:16
11. Same Rules Apply. 15:12

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox