Back to IndieWire

“Lonely Bones” and “Tito On Ice” Win in Ottawa

"Lonely Bones" and "Tito On Ice" Win in Ottawa

The Ottawa International Animation Festival (OIAF) official competition came to an end tonight with its highly anticipated award ceremonies, which were held at St. Brigid’s Centre for the Arts. OIAF organizers announced the 2013 winners of the competition during the ceremonies. Here is the complete list of honorees: 

The Nelvana GRAND PRIZE for Best Short Animation:
Lonely Bones by Rosto (France, the Netherlands)
“For the engrossing, immersive, dreamlike experience”

The 2013 GRAND PRIZE for Best Animated Feature:
Tito on Ice by Max Andersson & Helena Ahonen (Sweden)
“For its daring use of the medium”

Honorable Mention:
The Boy and the World (O Menino e o Mundo) by Alê Abreu (Brazil)
“Because it was full of some of the most beautiful images we’ve ever seen”

Public Prize:
But Milk is Important by Eirik Grønmo Bjørndrn & Anna Mantazaris (Norway)

The 2013 Canadian Film Institute (CFI) Award for Best Canadian Animation is: 
Two Weeks – Two Minutes by Judith Poirier (Canada)

Honorable Mentions to: 
The Clockmakers (Les Horlogers) by Renaud Hallee (Canada)
Crossing Victoria by Steve Woloshen (Canada)

Best Narrative Short Animation:
Oh Willy… by Emma De Swaef & Mark James Roels (Belgium, France, Netherlands, Luxembourg)
“Because it’s an engaging, enthralling, genuinely emotional film that never resorts to cheap sentimentals”

Best Experimental/ Abstract Animation:
Virtuoso Virtual by Thomas Stellmach & Maja Oschmann (Germany)
“Because it’s a classic idea, but done in a contemporary way”

Walt Disney Award for Best Graduation Animation:
But Milk is Important by Eirik Grønmo Bjørndrn & Anna Mantazaris (Norway) 
“For its a very human story, and a problem that most of us can recognize and relate to”

Honorable Mention to:
Youkosobokudesu Selection ‘Na Ni Nu Ne No No’ by Manabu Himeda (Japan)

Best Undergraduate Animation:
Rollin’ Safari by Kyra Buschor, Constantin Paeplow & Anna Habermehl (Germany)
“For its strength of the short format gags, which makes you want to see more”

Best High School Animation:
Abduction Milk Cow by Shin Hye Kim, Woo Sol Lee & Hyun Ji Yoon (South Korea)
“Because it’s a fun, risk-taking, ambitious undertaking”

Best Animation School Showreel:
TAMA ART University

Best Canadian Student Animation:
Wind & Tree by Konstantin Steshenko (Canada) from Emily Carr University

Honourable Mention to:
Blackout by Sharron Mirsky (Canada) from Concordia University

Best Promotional Animation:
50e Anniversaire de la Cinematheque Quebecoise by Diane Obomsawin (Canada)
“Because it addresses the subject of history very well, in a simple, fun, and understandable way”

Best Music Video:
Stuck in the Sound ‘Let’s Go’ by Alexis Beaumont & Remi Godin (France)

Best TV Animation for Adults:
Archer ‘Coyote Lovely’ by Bryan Fordney  (USA)
“Because it’s entertaining, edgy, politically incorrect”

Best Short Animation for Children:
Written By A Kid ‘La Munkya’ by Roque Ballesteros
“Because it’s happy and creative”

Honorable Mentions to:
Tome Of the Unknown by Patrick McHale (USA) 
The Little Blonde Boy With a White Sheep (Le petit blond avec le mouton blanc) by Eloi Henriod

Best TV Animation for Children:
Regular Show A Bunch of Full Grown Geese by JG Quintel (USA)
“Because it’s unpredictable, cool, and hilariously weird!”

Honorable Mentions to:
Adventure Time ‘A Glitch Is A Glitch’ by David OReilly (USA)
SpongeBob SquarePants ‘It’s A SpongeBob Christmas!’ by Mark Caballero & Seamus Walsh (USA)

This year the festival received 1,924 entries from 76 different countries, selecting 108 finalists for competition. An additional 44 films will be shown out-of-competition in Showcase screenings.

The OIAF is a major international film event that attracts more than 24,000 film buffs, art lovers, producers, and cartoon fans from around the world. 
The members of the 2013 Jury for the Short Program include Carolina Lopez Caballero (Spain), Ged Haney (UK/ Germany), and Megan Turnbull (Canada).  The members of the Jury for the Animated Feature Film Competition include Elliot Cowan (Australia/ USA), Fran Krause (USA), and Michele Lemieux (Canada).

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox