You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

42-Track ‘Arrested Development’ Soundtrack Details Revealed, Mitch Hurwitz Eyes ‘AD’ Film On Netflix

42-Track 'Arrested Development' Soundtrack Details Revealed, Mitch Hurwitz Eyes 'AD' Film On Netflix

Embedded within its many in-jokes, visual cues, and constantly shifting timeline, the fourth season of “Arrested Development” firmly carried on the series’ excellent use of original songs and score composed by David Schwartz (“Deadwood”, “Northern Exposure”). Songs like “It Ain’t Easy Being White” and this latest season’s “Fantastic Four Medley” and “Get Away” have had fans clamoring for an official soundtrack for years, and now a release date has been announced, along with a possible distribution option for the “Arrested Development” film.

Varese Sarabande certainly had a bevy of choices to choose from in compiling the comedy soundtrack, out on November 19th. And indeed, 42 tracks show up on the final tracklist, which you can view below (via Film Music Reporter). It compiles a selection from all four seasons of the show, ranging from the heavily featured (an extended edition of “Balls In The Air” from season three) to the fleetingly referenced (“Mr. F”). Also, for those looking for the tune that rang out the show’s fourth season, Lucy Schwartz‘s “Boomerang” is included at the end of the album.

As for the show itself, creator Mitch Hurwitz has been weighing the distribution paths for an eventual “Arrested Development” film, and until now the desired platform—once the cast finally gathered long enough to shoot it—was theatrical. But Hurwitz says his experience on the fourth season with Netflix and chief content officer Ted Sarandos has perked his interest in staying with them, not just for the movie but a season afterwards as well.

“I love the idea of doing let’s-call-it-a-movie on Netflix that leads into another season on Netflix,” he said (via The Wrap). “I would love it. I would love the creative challenge of it and I love that it could be a good strategy of keeping the Bluth family alive while we’re trying to put together another season.” With Netflix recently expressing the wish to dive into original film content, it would make a perfect match. But of course, 20th Century Fox owns the rights to the entire show, so their approval still sits in the way of Hurwitz facing another logistics nightmare to continue his acclaimed work.

“Arrested Development” OST Tracklist:

1. Arrested Development (Main Title) (0:18)
2. She’s Cute (1:25)
3. Get Away (Extended Version) (2:53)
4. Practice Kisses (1:51)
5. Sound of Silence / The Cockroach (Medley) (1:09)
6. Balls In The Air (Extended Version) (3:05)
7. Face Blindness (L&M) (1:33)
8. You’ll Never Hear From Me Again (3:35)
9. As It Is Such (Medley) (1:18)
10. Tobias Eat Pray Gay (Medley) (0:40)
11. Motherboy (1:19)
12. Franklin’s Brown Sugar (0:23)
13. It Ain’t Easy Being White (1:19)
14. Shot By Love (Extended Version) (3:04)
15. Mr.F (0:49)
16. The Yellow Boat (1:56)
17. All You Need Is Smiles (0:27)
18. Big Yellow Joint (0:27)
19. Big Rock’n Yellow Joint (0:09)
20. The Cute Test (2:05)
21. Aloha Lei To You (1:09)
22. Oh Phoenix (2:14)
23. Andele (0:28)
24. Bang Bang Bang Bang (Buster Dance) (2:14)
25. I’m Blue, Man (2:13)
26. Mock Trial (0:15)
27. Not Your Father, Mopy,
28. What Could Be Better (1:20)
29. She Winked (1:07)
30. Free At Last (1:18)
31. Oh My (Medley) (0:49)
32. Get Along, Little Sheep (0:29)
33. Big Ska (0:49)
34. Buster & Lucille & George & GOB (0:40)
35. Fantastic 4 (Medley) (0:54)
36. The Invisible Girl (0:58)
37. Rub It In (1:53)
38. The Chipper (1:39)
39. Teamocil (0:35)
40. You Here With Me (1:27)
41. Police Cruise (1:04)
42. Boomerang (3:37) Performed by Lucy Schwartz

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox