Back to IndieWire

All The 2014 Foreign-Language Film Academy Award Submissions: A Complete List

All The 2014 Foreign-Language Film Academy Award Submissions: A Complete List

The submission list for the 86th Annual Academy Awards
foreign-language category is complete, with a record 76 countries
selecting (last year, a then-record 71 countries submitted in the end).

Among them are several high profile films from the international film festival circuit: Iran (which after much speculation they wouldn’t submit, decided to go for it with Ashgar Farhadi’s mostly France-set “The Past,” two years after Farhadi won for “A Separation”), France (which selected Gilles Bourdos’ “Renoir” after Abdellatif Kechiche’s Palme d’Or winnerBlue is the Warmest Color didn’t meet the release date eligibility requirements), Chile (submitting Berlinale favorite “Gloria”), Canada (going for four in a row with Louise Archambault’s Locarno Film Fest favourite “Gabrielle”), Japan (controversially submitting “The Great Passage” over heavy favorite and Cannes prize winner “Like Father, Like Son), Italy (Cannes favorite “The Great Beauty”), Belgium (Felix van Groeningen’s “The Broken Circle Breakdown”), Hong Kong (Wong Kar-wai’s “The Grandmaster”) and Saudi Arabia (submitting for the very first time with Haifaa al-Mansour’s “Wadjda,” the first film in the country ever to be directed by a woman, no less).

For 2012, the category ended up being won by Austria (for “Amour”). Nine finalists from among the dozens of
entries will be shortlisted in mid-January, with the final five nominees
to be announced on January 16, 2014.

Full list of submissions is below. 

Afghanistan – Wajma (An Afghan Love Story), directed by Barmak Akram (Dari)

Albania – Agon, directed by Robert Budina

Argentina – Wakolda, directed by Lucía Puenzo (Spanish, German)

Australia – The Rocket, directed by Kim Mordaunt (Lao)

Austria – The Wall, directed by Julian Polsler (German)

Bangladesh – Television, directed by Mostofa Sarwar Farooki (Bengali)

Belgium – The Broken Circle Breakdown, directed by Felix van Groeningen (Flemish)

Bosnia and Herzegovina – An Episode in the Life of an Iron Picker, directed by Danis Tanović (Bosnian, Romany)

Brazil – Neighbouring Sounds, directed by Kleber Mendonça Filho (Portuguese, Mandarin)

Bulgaria – Colour of the Chameleon, directed by Emil Hristov (Bulgarian)

Cambodia – The Missing Picture, directed by Rithy Panh (French)

Canada – Gabrielle, directed by Louise Archambault (French)

Chad – GriGris, directed by Mahamat-Saleh Haroun

Chile – Gloria, directed by Sebastian Lelio (Spanish)

China – Back to 1942, directed by Feng Xaiogang (Mandarin)

Colombia – La Playa DC, directed by Juan Andrés Arango (Spanish)

Croatia – Halima’s Path, directed by Arsen Anton Ostojić (Bosnian)

Czech Republic – The Don Juans, directed by Jiri Menzel (Czech)

Denmark – The Hunt, directed by Thomas Vinterberg (Danish)

Dominican Republic – Who’s The Boss?, directed by Ronni Castillo (Spanish)

Ecuador – Porcelain Horse, directed by Javier Andrade (Spanish)

Egypt – Winter of Discontent, directed by Ibrahim El- Batout (Arabic)

Estonia – Free Range, directed by Veiko Õunpuu (Estonian)

Finland – Disciple, directed by Ulrika Bengts (Finnish)

France – Renoir, directed by Gilles Bourdos (French)

Georgia – In Bloom, directed by Nana Ekvtimishvili and Simon Groß

Germany – Two Lives, directed by Georg Maas (German)

Greece – Boy Eating The Bird’s Food, directed by Ektoras Lygizos  (Greek)

Hong Kong – The Grandmaster, directed by Wong Kar-wai (Cantonese, Mandarin)

Hungary – The Notebook, directed by Janosz Szasz (Hungarian)

Iceland – Of Horses and Men, directed by Benedikt Erlingsson (Icelandic)

India – The Good Road, directed by Gyan Correa (Gujarati)

Indonesia – Sang Kiai, directed by Rako Prijanto

Iran – The Past, directed by Asghar Farhadi (French, Persian)

Israel – Bethlehem, directed by Yuval Adler (Hebrew, Arabic)

Italy – The Great Beauty, directed by Paolo Sorrentino (Italian)

Japan – The Great Passage, directed by Yuya Ishii (Japanese)

Kazakhstan – The Old Man, directed by Ermek Tursunov (Russian, Kazakh)

Latvia – Mother I Love You, directed by Janis Nords (Latvian)

Lebanon –  Blind Intersections, directed by Lara Saba

Lithuania – Conversations of Serious Topics, directed by Giedrė Beinoriūtė (Lithuanian)

Luxembourg – Blind Spot, directed by Christophe Wagner (Luxembourgish, French)

Mexico – Heli, directed by Amat Escalante (Spanish)

Moldova – All God’s Children, directed by Adrian Popovici

Montenegro – Bad Destiny, directed by Draško Đurović (Serbo-Croatian)

Morocco – God’s Horses, directed by Nabil Ayouch (Arabic)

Nepal – Soongava: Dance of the Orchids, directed by Subarna Thapa (Nepalese)

The Netherlands – Borgman, directed by Alex van Warmerdam (Dutch)

New Zealand – White Lies, directed by Dana Rotberg (Maori)

Norway – I Am Yours, directed by Iram Haq (Norwegian, Urdu)

Pakistan – Zinda Bhaag, directed by Meenu Gaur and Farjad Nabi (Udu, Punjabi)

Palestine – Omar, directed by Hany Abu-Assad (Arabic)

Peru – The Cleaner, directed by Adrian Saba (Spanish)

Philippines – Transit, directed by Hannah Espia (Filipino, Tagalog, Hebrew)

Poland – Walesa, directed by Andrzej Wajda (Polish)

Portugal – Lines of Wellington, directed by Valeria Sarmiento

Romania – Child’s Pose, directed by Calin Peter Netzer (Romanian)

Russia  – Stalingrad, directed by Fedor Bondarchuk (Russian)

Saudi Arabia – Wadjda, directed by Haifaa al-Mansour (Arabic)

Serbia – Circles, directed by Srdan Golubovic  (Serbian)

Singapore – Ilo Ilo, directed by Anthony Chen  (Mandarin, Hokkien, English, Tagalog)

Slovakia – My Dog Killer, directed by Mira Fornay (Slovak)

Slovenia – Class Enemy, directed by Rok Biček (Slovene)

South Africa – Four Corners, directed by Ian Gabriel (Afrikaans, Tsotsitaal)

South Korea – Juvenile Offender, directed by Kang Yi-kwan (Korean)

Spain – 15 Years and One Day, directed by Garcia Querejeta (Spanish)

Sweden – Eat Sleep Die, directed by Gabriela Pichler (Swedish, Croatian)

Switzerland – More Than Honey, directed by Markus Imhoof (German, Mandarin)

Taiwan – Soul, directed by Chung Mong-Hong (Mandarin)

Thailand – Countdown, directed by Nattawut Poonpiriya (Thai)

Turkey – The Butterfly’s Dream, directed by Yılmaz Erdoğan (Turkish)

Ukraine – Paradjanov, directed by Serge Avedikian and Olena Fetisova (Russian)

United Kingdom – Metro Manila, directed by Sean Elllis (Filipino, Tagalog)

Uruguay – Anina, directed by Alfredo Soderguit  (Spanish)

Venezuela – Breach in the Silence, directed by Luis Rodríguez and Andrés Rodríguez (Spanish)

Get the latest on this year’s award season at Indiewire’s awards page.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox