Back to IndieWire

Gotham Awards Announce Nominees for 23rd Annual Ceremony

Gotham Awards Announce Nominees for 23rd Annual Ceremony

The Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP) have announced the nominees for the 23rd annual Gotham Independent Film Awards

Nomination criteria includes that the works must be independent American feature-length film made with a point of view. 2013 for the first time ushers in Best Actor and Actress awards.

Below are the women nominated for the Gotham Awards. The bad news is that no women directors were nominated for Best Feature.  (Where’s Nicole Holofcener?)

Best Documentary

The Crash Reel: Lucy Walker, director; Julian Cautherly, Lucy Walker, producers (HBO Documentary Films)

Our Nixon: Penny Lane, director; Brian L. Frye, Penny Lane, producers (Cinedigm and CNN Films)

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

Stacie Passon for Concussion (RADiUS-TWC)

Amy Seimetz for Sun Don’t Shine (Factory 25)

Best Actress

Cate Blanchett in Blue Jasmine (Sony Pictures Classics)

Scarlett Johansson in Don Jon (Relativity Media)

Brie Larson in Short Term 12 (Cinedigm)

Amy Seimetz in Upstream Color (erbp)

Shailene Woodley in The Spectacular Now (A24)

Breakthrough Actor

Kathryn Hahn in Afternoon Delight (The Film Arcade and Cinedigm)

Lupita Nyong’o in 12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

Robin Weigert in Concussion (RADiUS-TWC)

Spotlight on Women Filmmakers ‘Live the Dream’ Grant

Afia Nathaniel, director, Dukhthar

Gita Pullapilly, director, Beneath the Harvest Sky

Deb Shoval, director, AWOL

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , , , , , , ,