You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Mexico’s ‘La Jaula de Oro’ Tops Winners at the Zurich Film Festival

Mexico's 'La Jaula de Oro' Tops Winners at the Zurich Film Festival

The 9th Zurich Film Festival wrapped over the weekend in Switzerland with a closing awards ceremony where films from Mexico, Denmark, Germany and Switzerland all prevailed.

The jury for the International Feature Film competition, led by “World War Z” filmmaker Marc Forster (who’s Swiss), awarded the Golden Eye for Best Film to “La Jaula de Oro,” from Mexican filmmaker Diego Quemada-Diez. They gave a Special Mention to Michael B. Jordan, star of “Fruitvale Station.”

The documentary jury awarded Denmark’s Kaspar Astrup Schroeder with the Golden Eye for best documentary for “Lej En Familie A/S.” Pakistan’s “These Birds Walk” was singled out for a Special Mention.

Below find a list of the event’s other winners:

Golden Eye for Best Film in the German-Language Feature Film Competition:
“Finsterworld,” Frauke Finsterwalder

Golden Eye for Best Film in the Documentary Film Germany, Austria, Swizerland Competiton:
“Neuland,” Anna Thommen

SVFJ Critics Choice Award:
“Finsterworld,” Frauke Finsterwalder

Audience Award:
“Journey to Jah,” Noël Dernesch and Moritz Springer

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox