Back to IndieWire

Soundtrack Album For ’12 Years a Slave’ To Be Released By Columbia Records On 11/11

Soundtrack Album For '12 Years a Slave' To Be Released By Columbia Records On 11/11

With the film’s theatrical release set for this weekend, Columbia Records has announced that it will release a soundtrack album for the much-anticipated, much-discussed drama 12 Years a Slave, directed by Steve McQueen

The album, set for release on November 11, 2013, will feature music from and inspired by the film, including an original score composed by Hans Zimmer, as well as on-screen violin music (as played by Solomon NorthupChiwetel Ejiofor) written and arranged by pianist/composer Nicholas Britell, and performed by violinist Tim Fain

Full details to come. 

The drama boasts an impressive cast of actors, including: Chiwetel Ejiofor, Michael FassbenderLupita Nyong’oPaul DanoBenedict CumberbatchRuth Negga, Adepero OduyeAlfre WoodardScoot McNairyGarret DillahuntBrad PittMichael K. WilliamsPaul GiamattiSarah Paulson and others. 

Fox Searchlight will open 12 Years A Slave theatrically on October 18, in a limited roll-out and will then expand nationwide in successive weeks. 

For our past coverage on the film, read Frances Bodomo’s review HERE; Jai interviewed Lupita Nyong’o HERE and Alfre Woodard HERE; I interviewed Steve McQueen HERE; and most recently, Vanessa interviewed Kelsey Scott (who plays Northop’s wife) HERE.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged ,