You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Festival Fave & Belgium’s Oscar Entry ‘Broken Circle Breakdown’ Leads European Film Awards Nominees

Festival Fave & Belgium's Oscar Entry 'Broken Circle Breakdown' Leads European Film Awards Nominees

If there’s one movie you might hear The Playlist prattling on about in the next few weeks, it’s Felix van Groeningen‘s “Broken Circle Breakdown.” Having already won the heart of Jessica Kiang when it hit Karlovy Vary earlier this year, I saw it this past week and was equally taken with the moving, messy, ambitious and beautiful film that has already received awards at both the Berlin Film Festival and Tribeca Film Festival. And the film’s list of honors may continue at the Oscars, where it’s Belgium’s entry, but first it’s stopping at European Film Awards, where it’s leading the pack of nominees.

This morning, organizers unveiled the full lineup of nominees, with Felix van Groeningen’s “Broken Circle Breakdown” came out on top with five nominations, one in each major category. The drama, told in a fractured narrative, tells the heartbreaking story of a young couple who fall in love and find their bond tested when their child is diagnosed with cancer. Perhaps falling somewhere between “Blue Is The Warmest Color” and “Blue Valentine,” the film is a pretty powerful look at the dizzying highs of falling for someone, and the painful lows when two people can no longer function together and find that whatever once drew them into each other’s orbit is forever stained. But, oh—I haven’t mentioned the music….

Groeningen’s film is powered by an excellent bluegrass soundtrack (the two lovers play together in a band), and it easily gives “Inside Llewyn Davis” a run for its money as the best movie music this year (“If I Needed You” is this movie’s “Fare Thee Well (Dink’s Song)”—stirring stuff). So yes, we’re big fans of this movie and we hope these nominations help give it a bit of shine—it’s now playing in limited release.

The other big nominee is Paolo Sorrentino‘s odyssey “La Grande Bellezza” (“The Great Beauty“) which snagged four nominations. In terms of snubs, it’s a bit surprising to see “Blue Is The Warmest Color” nominated for Best Film and Best Director, but nothing for the actresses.

Full list of nominees below along with winners in the technical categories, who have already received their statues. The rest major prizes will be handed out on December 7th.


THE BEST OFFER (Italy), Written and Directed by Giuseppe Tornatore

BLANCANIEVES (Spain/France), Written and Directed by Pablo Berger

THE BROKEN CIRCLE BREAKDOWN (Belgium), Directed by Felix van Groeningen, Written by Carl Joos & Felix van Groeningen

LA GRANDE BELLEZZA (THE GREAT BEAUTY) (Italy/France), Directed by Paolo Sorrentino, written by Paolo Sorrentino & Umberto Contarello

OH BOY! (Germany), Written and Directed by Jan Ole Gerster

LA VIE D’ADELE: CHAPITRES 1 & 2 (ADELE: CHAPTERS 1 & 2) (France), Directed by Adellatif Kechiche, Written by Abdellatif Kechiche & Ghalya Lacroix


LOS AMANTES PASAJEROS (I’M SO EXCITED!) (Spain), Written and Directed by Pedro Almodóvar

BENVENUTO PRESIDENTE! (WELCOME MR PRESIDENT!) (Italy), Directed by Riccardo Milani, Written by Fabio Bonifacci

DEN SKALDEDE FRISØR (LOVE IS ALL YOU NEED) (Denmark), Directed By Susanne Bier, Written by Anders Thomas Jensen & Susanne Bier

SVECENIKOVA DJECA (THE PRIEST’S CHILDREN) (Croatia/Serbia), Directed by Vinko Brešan, Written by Mate Matišić & Vinko Brešan


Pablo Berger for BLANCANIEVES

Felix van Groeningen for THE BROKEN CIRCLE BREAKDOWN

Abdellatif Kechiche for LA VIE D’ADELE (Adele)

François Ozon for DANS LA MAISON (In the House)

Paolo Sorrentino for LA GRANDE BELLEZZA (The Great Beauty)

Giuseppe Tornatore for THE BEST OFFER


Keira Knightley in ANNA KARENINA 


Barbara Sukowa in HANNAH ARENDT

Naomi Watts in LO IMPOSIBLE (The Impossible)

Luminita Gheorghiu in POZITIA COPILULUI (Child’s Pose)




Fabrice Luchini in DANS LA MAISON (In the House)

Toni Servillo in LA GRANDE BELLEZZA (The Great Beauty)

Tom Schilling in OH BOY


Tom Stoppard for ANNA KARENINA   

Giuseppe Tornatore for THE BEST OFFER 

Carl Joos & Felix van Groeningen for THE BROKEN CIRCLE BREAKDOWN

François Ozon for DANS LA MAISON (In the House)

Paolo Sorrentino & Umberto Contarello for LA GRANDE BELLEZZA (The Great Beauty)

European Discovery – Prix FIPRESCI

Äta sova dö (Eat Sleep Die), Gabriela Pichler, Sweden

Call Girl, Mikael Marcimain, Sweden, Norway, Ireland and Finland

Miele (Honey), valeria Golino, Italy and France

Oh Boy!, Jan Ole Gerster, Germany

La Plaga (The Plague), Neus Ballús, Spain

European Animated Feature Film

The Congress, Ari Folman, Israel, Germany, Poland, Luxembourg, France and Belgium

Jasmine, Alain Ughetto, France

Pinocchio, Enzo d’AIò, Italy, Luxembourg, France and Belgium

European Documentary

The Act of Killing, Joshua Oppenheimer, Denmark, Norway and UK

L’Escale (Stop-Over), Kaveh Bakhtiari, Switzerland and France

L’Image Manquante (The Missing Picture), Rithy Panh, France and Cambodia

European Short Film

Cut, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, Germany, 12′ (Vila do Conde nominee)

Dood Van Een Schaduw (Death of a Shadow), Tom Van Avermaet, Belgium and France, 20′ (Valladolid nominee)

Houses with Small Windows, Bülent Öztürk, Belgium, 15′ (Venice nominee)

La Lampe au Beurre de Yak (Butter Lamp), Hu Wei, France and China, 15′ (Drama nominee)

Letter, Sergei Loznitsa, Russia, 20′ (documentary) (Krakow nominee)

Misterio (Mystery), Chema García Ibarra, Spain, 12′ (Berlin nominee)

Morning, Cathy Brady, UK and Ireland, 21′ (Cork nominee)

As Ondas (The Waves), Miguel Fonseca, Portugal, 22′ (Ghent nominee)

Orbit Ever After, Jamie Stone, UK, 20′ (Bristol nominee)

Skok (Jump), Petar Valchanov and Kristina Grozeva, Bulgaria, 30′ (Clermont-Ferrand nominee)

Sonntag 3 (Sunday 3), Jochen Kuhn, Germany, 14′ (Tampere nominee)

A Story for the Modlins, Sergio Oksman, Spain, 26′ (documentary) (Sarajevo nominee)

Though I Know The River Is Dry, Omar Robert Hamilton, Egypt, Palestine and UK, 20′ (Rotterdam nominee)

Yaderni Wydhody (Nuclear Waste), Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy, Ukraine, 25′ (Grimstad nominee)

Zima, Christina Picchi, Russia, 12′ (documentary) (Locarno nominee)

Winners already announced

Carlo di Palma European Cinematographer Award: Asaf Sudry for Lemale et Ha’Halal (Fill The Void), Israel

European Editor: Cristiano Travaglioli for La Grande Bellezza (The Great Beauty), Italy and France

European Production Designer: Sarah Greenwood for Anna Karenina, UK

European Composer: Ennio Morricone for The Best Offer, Italy

European Costume Designer: Paco Delgado for Blancanieves, Spain and France

European Sound Designer: Matz Müller and Erik Mischijew for Paradies: Glaube (Paradise: Faith), Austria, Germany and France

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox