Back to IndieWire

’12 Years a Slave’ Leads Boston Critics Awards

'12 Years a Slave' Leads Boston Critics Awards

Steve McQueen’s “12 Years a Slave” led the winners of the Boston Society of Film Critics’ annual awards, taking prizes for best picture, best director and best actor. Martin Scorsese’s “The Wolf of Wall Street” was runner up for the same prizes.

Complete list of winners:

Best Picture  – 12 Years a Slave
(runner-up: The Wolf of Wall Street)

Best Actor –  Chiwetel Ejiofor for 12 Years a Slave
(runner-up: Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street)

Best Actress – Cate Blanchett for Blue Jasmine
(runner-up: Judi Dench, Philomena)

Best Supporting Actor –  James Gandolfini for Enough Said
(runner-up: Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club and Barkhad Adbi, Captain Phillips – TIE)

Best Supporting Actress –  June Squibb for Nebraska
(runner-up: Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave)

Best Director – Steve McQueen for 12 Years a Slave
(runner-up: Martin Scorsese, The Wolf of Wall Street)

Best Screenplay –  Nicole Holofcener for Enough Said
(runner-up: Terence Winter, The Wolf of Wall Street)

Best Cinematography – Emmanuel Lubezki for Gravity
(runner-up: The Grandmaster)

Best Documentary – The Act of Killing
(runner-up: Blackfish)

Best Animated Film –  The Wind Rises
(runner-up: Frozen

Best Film Editing (awarded in memory of Karen Schmeer) – Daniel P. Hanley and Mike Hill for Rush
(runner-up: The Wolf of Wall Street)

Best New Filmmaker (awarded in memory of David Brudnoy) –  Ryan Coogler for Fruitvale Station
(runner-up: Josh Oppenheimer, The Act of Killing)

Best Ensemble Cast –  Nebraska
(runner-up: The Wolf of Wall Street)

Best Use of Music in a Film  – Inside Llewyn Davis
(runner-up: Nebraska)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox