You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

All Award Season Screenplays Now Available Online: Oscar Frontrunners and Contenders UPDATED

All Award Season Screenplays Now Available Online: Oscar Frontrunners and Contenders UPDATED

UPDATE: Terence Winter’s screenplay for “The Wolf of Wall Street,” “Saving Mr. Banks” by Kelly Marcel and Sue Smith and Destin Cretton’s award-winning script for “Short Term” 12 are now all available online here via Blue Cat.

EARLIER: All of the award season screenplays are now available online. In the glut of promotional material sent out to Academy members at this time of year, clearly many films are adapted from real books, including Marcus Luttrell’s “Lone Survivor,” Markus Zusak’s “The Book Thief,” Solomon Northup’s “12 Years a Slave,” Martin Sexsmith’s “Philomena” and Will Haygood’s “The
Butler.” Also arriving on voters stoops so far are screenplays for the Coen brothers’ original “Inside Llewyn Davis,” Tracy Letts’ adaptation of his play “August: Osage
County,” John Ridley’s “12 Years a Slave” and Danny Strong’s “The Butler.”

In the Screenplay categories for the Oscars, every year a number of films go into competition without a boost from the Writers Guild. This is due to strictly followed Guild rules. 

Non-Guild writers, films produced under companies that are not WGA signatories or made outside of the Guild’s guidelines are ineligible. Excluded this year from WGA qualification are indies “12 Years a Slave,” “Rush,” “Fruitvale Station,” “Philomena” and “Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom.” Original screenplays from Lake Bell (Indie Spirit nominee “In a World…”) and Brit Edgar Wright (“The World’s End”) are also out of the WGA picture.

In our ongoing TOH! Oscar predictions, we’ve broken down the screenplay frontrunners and contenders as follows:

Best Original Screenplay


Woody Allen (“Blue Jasmine”)

Joel and Ethan Coen (“Inside Llewyn Davis”)

Alfonso and Jonas Cuaron (“Gravity”)

Nicole Holofcener (“Enough Said”)

Bob Nelson (“Nebraska”)


J.C. Chandor (“All is Lost”)

Ryan Coogler (“Fruitvale Station”)

Spike Jonze (“Her”)

David O. Russell and Eric Singer (“American

Danny Strong (“Lee Daniels’ The Butler”)

Best Adapted Screenplay


Peter Berg (“Lone Survivor”)

Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke, Richard Linklater (“Before

Tracy Letts (“August: Osage County”)

Billy Ray (“Captain Phillips”)

John Ridley (“12 Years a Slave”)


Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope (“Philomena”)

Terence Winter (“The Wolf of Wall Street”)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox