Back to IndieWire

New York Film Critics Circle 2013 Winners (UPDATE)

New York Film Critics Circle 2013 Winners (UPDATE)

The New York Film Critics Circle winners can be hugely influential on other awards races, especially in a year with so many hopefuls. David O. Russell is having a very good day as “American Hustle” won three NYFCC awards including best feature, screenplay and supporting actress Jennifer Lawrence. This pushes “American Hustle” to the forefront of the Oscar race, where frontrunner “12 Years a Slave” has been leading a very large field. Its director, Steve McQueen, landed best director. 

Fox Searchlight knows full well that being the frontrunner can be a hindrance. “12 Years a Slave” is now more likely to grab wins from other groups such as the L.A. Film Critics.

For their part, Best Actress Cate Blanchett (“Blue Jasmine”) and Supporting Actor Jared Leto (“Dallas Buyers Club”) confirmed their frontrunner status and will likely continue to rack up wins. 

Anyone wondering if Lawrence would wind up with a Best Supporting Actress Oscar nomination can be assured that she will. And Hollywood/Indiewood icon Robert Redford is assured an Oscar nomination for “All is Lost.” This win will boost the box office for Roadside Attractions’ “All is Lost,” which has been encountering some resistance to its lack of dialogue. That degree of difficulty will be appreciated by Academy actors, but arthouse audiences will now be encouraged to check out the film. Roadside also released the NYFCC doc winner, Sarah Polley’s “Stories We Tell.” 

“Fruitvale Station” writer-director Ryan Coogler did well at the Gothams Monday night and the NYFCC gave him its first film awards. More to come. 

Best Film

“American Hustle”

Best Actor

Robert Redford (“All is Lost”)

Best Actress

Cate Blanchett (“Blue Jasmine”)

Best Director

Steve McQueen (“12 Years A Slave”)

Best Supporting Actress

Jennifer Lawrence (“American Hustle”)

Best Foreign Language Film

Blue Is The Warmest Color

Best Supporting Actor

Jared Leto (“Dallas Buyers Club”)

Best Animated Film

Hayao Miyazaki’s “The Wind Rises

Best Screenplay

“American Hustle”

Special Award

Frederick Wiseman


Best Cinematography

Bruno Delbonnel (“Inside Llewyn Davis”)

Best First Film

Ryan Coogler’s “Fruitvale Station”

Best Non-fiction Film (Documentary)

“Stories We Tell”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox