Back to IndieWire

Palm Springs International Film Fest to Honor Lupita Nyong’o and Composer Thomas Newman

Palm Springs International Film Fest to Honor Lupita Nyong'o and Composer Thomas Newman

The 25th annual Palm Springs International Film Festival
will honor Lupita Nyong’o with the Breakthrough Performance Award for her turn
as young slave Patsy in “12 Years a Slave,” and Thomas Newman with the
Frederick Loewe Award for Film Composing for Disney’s “Saving Mr. Banks” at its
annual Awards Gala on January 4. 

Newcomer Nyong’o has already been scoring some honors from critics’
circles — the LA film critics voted her Best Supporting Actress, while the
Boston critics placed her as runner up. Meanwhile Newman, an 11-time Oscar nominee (“Skyfall,” “WALL-E”), is in the running to nab another nomination for “Saving Mr. Banks.”

Previously announced gala honorees are Nyong’o’s “12 Years a Slave” director Steve McQueen, Sandra Bullock, Bruce
Dern, Matthew McConaughey and Julia Roberts. 

Past recipients of the Breakthrough Performance Award
include Mariah Carey, Marion Cotillard, Jennifer Hudson, Felicity Huffman,
Carey Mulligan and Jeremy Renner.  In the
years they were honored, Cotillard and Hudson went on to win Academy Awards,
while Huffman and Renner received Oscar nominations.

The Festival runs January 3-13, 2014.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox