Back to IndieWire

Producers Guild to Honor ‘Fruitvale Station’ with Stanley Kramer Award

Producers Guild to Honor 'Fruitvale Station' with Stanley Kramer Award

The Producers Guild of America announced today that Ryan Coogler’s directorial debut “Fruitvale Station” will be honored with the 2014 Stanley Kramer Award at the 25th Annual PGA Awards ceremony on Sunday, January 19 in Los Angeles.

Starring Michael B. Jordan in a breakthrough performance, “Fruitvale Station” won both the Grand Jury Prize for dramatic feature and the Audience Award at the 2013 Sundance Film Festival, played the Un Certain Regard sidebar at Cannes and has since gone on to win a number of critics’ prizes.

Established in 2002, the Stanley Kramer Award honors individuals whose cinematic achievements raise public awareness of social issues. Previous recipients include “The Great Debaters,” “An Inconvenient Truth,” “Hotel Rwanda,” “Precious” and the 2012 documentary “Bully.”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox