Back to IndieWire

Spike Jonze and ‘Her’ Win National Board of Review Top Awards

Spike Jonze and 'Her' Win National Board of Review Top Awards

The National Board of Review have announced the winners of the 2013 awards. Spike Jonze’s “Her,” the story of a man (Joaquin Phoenix) who falls in love with the voice of his computer’s operating system, has been named Best Film of 2013, with Jonze winning Best Director. 

“Spike Jonze is one of the most talented and visionary filmmakers
working today,” said Annie Schulhof, NBR President. “In Her, he explores
the age-old themes of love and human connection in a completely fresh
and innovative way. It is an outstanding achievement that is sure to
become a new classic.”

The news comes a day after The New York Film Critics Circle named David O. Russell’s “American Hustle” the best film of 2013. Once again, “12 Years a Slave,” “Gravity” and “Inside Llewyn Davis” were largely shut out of the top awards (although “Gravity” won the Creative Innovation in Filmmaking Award” and the Coen Brothers won Best Original Screenplay). Interestingly, “American Hustle” and its star-studded cast didn’t get any recognition from the NBR, which didn’t even include the film in its top films of the year.

Hayao Miyazaki’s “The Wind Rises,” which also won the NYFCC, was named Best Animated Feature and Sarah Polley’s
“Stories We Tell,” was both the NYFCC and NBR’s pick for Best Documentary. 77-year-old, Bruce Dern, star of Alexander Payne’s “Nebraska,” won for Best Actor, while his co-star Will Forte was named Best Supporting Actor. Emma Thompson won for Best Actress for her role in “Saving Mr. Banks,” while Octavia Spencer was recognized for her supporting role in “Fruitvale Station.” That film’s director Ryan Coogler and star Michael B. Jordan received awards for Best Directorial Debut and Breakthrough Performance, respectively.  Adele Exarchopolous also received the Breakthrough Performance award for “Blue is the Warmest Color,” although the Best Foreign Film award went to Asghar Farhadi’s “The Past.”

The full list of awards follows:

Best Film:  HER

Best Director: Spike Jonze, HER

Best Actor: Bruce Dern, NEBRASKA

Best Actress: Emma Thompson, SAVING MR. BANKS

Best Supporting Actor: Will Forte, NEBRASKA

Best Supporting Actress: Octavia Spencer, FRUITVALE STATION

Best Original Screenplay: Joel and Ethan Coen, INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS

Best Adapted Screenplay: Terence Winter, THE WOLF OF WALL STREET

Best Animated Feature: THE WIND RISES

Breakthrough Performance: Michael B. Jordan, FRUITVALE STATION

Breakthrough Performance: Adele Exarchopoulos, BLUE IS THE WARMEST COLOR

Best Directorial Debut: Ryan Coogler, FRUITVALE STATION

Best Foreign Language Film:  THE PAST

Best Documentary: STORIES WE TELL

William K. Everson Film History Award: George Stevens, Jr.

Best Ensemble:  PRISONERS

Spotlight Award: Career Collaboration of Martin Scorsese and Leonardo DiCaprio

NBR Freedom of Expression Award: WADJDA

Creative Innovation in Filmmaking Award: GRAVITY

Top Films
(in alphabetical order)

“12 Years a Slave,” “Fruitvale Station,” “Gravity,” Inside Llewyn Davis,” “Lone Survivor,” “Nebraska,” “Prisoners,” “Saving Mr. Banks,” “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty,” “The Wolf of Wall Street”

Top 5 Foreign Language Films (In Alphabetical Order)

“Beyond the Hills,” “Gloria,” “The Grandmaster,” “A Hijacking,” “The Hunt”

Top 5 Documentaries (In Alphabetical Order)

“20 Feet from Stardom,” “The Act of Killing,” “After Tiller,” “Casting By,” “The Square”

Top 10 Independent Films (In Alphabetical Order)

“Ain’t Them Bodies Saints,” “Dallas Buyers Club,” “In a
World…,” “Mother of George,” “Much Ado About Nothing,” “Mud,” “The Place
Beyond the Pines,” “Short Term 12,” “Sightseers,” “The Spectacular Now”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox