Back to IndieWire

Academy Now Accepting Applications For 2014 Student Academy Awards Competition

Academy Now Accepting Applications For 2014 Student Academy Awards Competition

Last year, the short film work of 4th-year South African film student Miklas Manneke, titled Kanye Kanye, was one of the 38 films shortlisted for nominations in the Best Foreign Student Short Film category at the year’s Student Academy Awards.

No it’s not an ode to the Kanye that most of you know; the phrase means “together.” It’s a romantic comedy about a forbidden love affair between two young township teenagers.

And the year before that, in 2012, animator Eric Prah won the Bronze Medal at the 39th Annual Student Academy Awards, for his short film, My Little Friend. Eric Prah attended Ringling College of Art and Design, in SarasotaFL.

We featured both filmmakers and films during the respective years in which they were nominated.

And you too can join then in the history books, as the Academy announced today that it is now accepting applications for its 2014 Student Academy Awards competition. 

The U.S. competition is open to all full-time college and university students at accredited institutions, whose films are made within the curricular structure of a film program or class at their respective schools. 

For 2014, the Academy has again limited the accepted accreditation agencies for U.S. institutions to the following: 

– Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools; 

– New England Association of Schools and Colleges; 

– North Central Association of Colleges and Schools; 

– Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities; 

– Western Association of Schools and Colleges; 

– Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. 

U.S. entries must be submitted by Tuesday, April 1, 2014.

In the Foreign Film category, entries are accepted only from full-time college and university students attending schools that are members of the international film school organization known as CILECT ( and located outside the borders of the United States. 

The deadline to submit a foreign student film for consideration is Friday, March 21, 2014.

Past Student Academy Award winners include none other than Spike Lee, as well as Robert Zemeckis, Robert ZemeckisPete Docter, John Lasseter, Trey Parker.

Gold, Silver and Bronze Medal awards, along with cash prizes, may be presented to student filmmakers in the following categories: Alternative, Animation, Narrative, Documentary and Foreign Film.

The rules and online application forms are available at

The 41st Annual Student Academy Awards presentation will be held in June at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.

The Academy established the Student Academy Awards in 1972 to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level.

Good luck to all who submit!

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged