You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

‘Inside Llewyn Davis’ Gets Last-Ditch Boost from National Society of Film Critics

'Inside Llewyn Davis' Gets Last-Ditch Boost from National Society of Film Critics

This has not been a good week for Joel and Ethan Coen’s dark music drama “Inside Llewyn Davis,” which failed to score nominations from the Producers or Writers Guilds. Since Cannes, it’s been a critics’ darling, although it did not win big with the year-end critics groups (except for the Toronto Film Critics Association) until now. The late-voting National Society of Film Critics (56 members nationwide) came through in the pinch, according “Inside Llewyn Davis” its top awards: picture, director, actor (Oscar Isaac) and cinematography.

Best Actress Cate Blanchett (“Blue Jasmine”) continued her winning streak, and Jennifer Lawrence (“American Hustle”) took supporting actress. The group threw their support behind James Franco as supporting actor for “Spring Breakers,” which is one of several 2013 films produced by Megan Ellison (along with “Her,” “The Grandmaster” and “American Hustle”).

The New York Film Critics Circle awarded “American Hustle,” while the Los Angeles Film Critics’ Association gave “Gravity” and “Her” a tie. Past winners from the NSFC include “Amour,” “Waltz With Bashir” and “Yi yi.” 

WGA nominees Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke earned best screenplay for “Before Midnight.” Yet again, Abdellatif Kechiche’s “Blue Is the Warmest Color” landed top foreign-language film, while the documentary award was shared between “The Act of Killing” and “At Berkeley.”

Tsai Ming-liang’s “Stray Dogs” and Daniel Patrick Carbone’s “Hide Your Smiling Faces” won for best films without distribution.

The group voted Film Heritage awards to the British Film Institute’s “Hitchcock 9″ restorations, Orson Welles’ early effort “Too Much Johnson,” the DVD “American Treasures From the New Zealand Film Archive,” and the Museum of Modern Art retrospective “Allan Dwan and the Rise and Decline of the Hollywood Studios.”

The full list of winners:

Picture: “Inside Llewyn Davis” (23)

Runners-up: “American Hustle” (17); “12 Years a Slave” (16); “Her” (16)

Director: Joel and Ethan Coen, “Inside Llewyn Davis” (25)

Runners-up: Alfonso Cuaron, “Gravity” (18); Steve McQueen, “12 Years a Slave” (15)

Actor: Oscar Isaac, “Inside Llewyn Davis” (28)

Runners-up: Chiwetel Ejiofor, “12 Years a Slave” (19); Robert Redford, “All Is Lost” (12)

Actress: Cate Blanchett, “Blue Jasmine” (57)

Runners-up: Adele Exarchopoulos, “Blue Is the Warmest Color” (36); Julie Delpy, “Before Midnight” (26)

Supporting actor: James Franco, “Spring Breakers” (24)

Runners-up: Jared Leto, “Dallas Buyers Club” (20); Barkhad Abdi, “Captain Phillips” (14)

Supporting actress: Jennifer Lawrence, “American Hustle” (54)

Runners-up: Lupita Nyong’o, “12 Years a Slave” (38); Sally Hawkins, “Blue Jasmine” (18); Lea Seydoux, “Blue Is the Warmest Color” (18)

Screenplay: Richard Linklater, Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy, “Before Midnight” (29)

Runners-up: Joel and Ethan Coen, “Inside Llewyn Davis” (26); Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell, “American Hustle” (18)

Foreign-language film: “Blue Is the Warmest Color” (27)

Runners-up: “A Touch of Sin” (21); “The Great Beauty” (15)

Nonfiction: “The Act of Killing” and “At Berkeley” (tie, 20)

Runner-up: “Leviathan” (18)

Cinematography: Bruno Delbonnel, “Inside Llewyn Davis” (28)

Runners-up: Emmanuel Lubezki, “Gravity” (26); Phedon Papamichael, “Nebraska” (17)

Film Still Awaiting U.S. Distribution: “Stray Dogs” and “Hide Your Smiling Faces”

Film Heritage:

“Too Much Johnson”

“American Treasures From the New Zealand Film Archive”

“Allan Dwan and the Rise and Decline of the Hollywood Studios”

“The Hitchcock 9″

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox