Back to IndieWire

‘Inside Llewyn Davis’ Wins Big With National Society of Film Critics

'Inside Llewyn Davis' Wins Big With National Society of Film Critics

Largely left out of critics groups’ prizes so far (save Toronto), Joel & Ethan Coen’s “Inside Llewyn Davis” got a needed (and, in this opinion, much deserved) boost from the National Society of Film Critics, taking honors for best picture, best director, best actor and best cinematography.

The film — recently snubbed by both the PGA and WGA — follows in the footsteps of recent NSFC best picture winners “Amour,” “Melancholia,” “The Social Network,” “The Hurt Locker,” “Waltz With Bashir” and “There Will Be Blood.” Only 4 of those 6 went on to get best picture nominations at the Oscars.

Other major winners included Cate Blanchett (“Blue Jasmine”), James Franco (“Spring Breakers”) and Jennifer Lawrence (“American Hustle”) who joined Oscar Isaac as the groups’ acting winners. “Before Midnight,” meanwhile, won best screenplay.

Notably the group also lists runners-up and vote counts, with “American Hustle,” “12 Years a Slave” and “Her” all coming in right behind for the big prize, and Alfonso Cuaron and Steve McQueen coming in behind the Coens for best director.

Full list of winners and runners-up:

Picture: “Inside Llewyn Davis” (23)
Runners-up: “American Hustle” (17); “12 Years a Slave” (16); “Her” (16)

Director: Joel and Ethan Coen, “Inside Llewyn Davis” (25)
Runners-up: Alfonso Cuaron, “Gravity” (18); Steve McQueen, “12 Years a Slave” (15)

Actor: Oscar Isaac, “Inside Llewyn Davis” (28)
Runners-up: Chiwetel Ejiofor, “12 Years a Slave” (19); Robert Redford, “All Is Lost” (12)

Actress: Cate Blanchett, “Blue Jasmine” (57)
Runners-up: Adele Exarchopoulos, “Blue Is the Warmest Color” (36); Julie Delpy, “Before Midnight” (26)

Supporting actor: James Franco, “Spring Breakers” (24)
Runners-up: Jared Leto, “Dallas Buyers Club” (20); Barkhad Abdi, “Captain Phillips” (14)

Supporting actress: Jennifer Lawrence, “American Hustle” (54)
Runners-up: Lupita Nyong’o, “12 Years a Slave” (38); Sally Hawkins, “Blue Jasmine” (18); Lea Seydoux, “Blue Is the Warmest Color” (18)

Screenplay: Richard Linklater, Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy, “Before Midnight” (29)
Runners-up: Joel and Ethan Coen, “Inside Llewyn Davis” (26); Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell, “American Hustle” (18)

Foreign-language film: “Blue Is the Warmest Color” (27)
Runners-up: “A Touch of Sin” (21); “The Great Beauty” (15)

Nonfiction: “The Act of Killing” and “At Berkeley” (tie, 20)
Runner-up: “Leviathan” (18)

Cinematography: Bruno Delbonnel, “Inside Llewyn Davis” (28)
Runners-up: Emmanuel Lubezki, “Gravity” (26); Phedon Papamichael, “Nebraska” (17)

Film Still Awaiting U.S. Distribution: “Stray Dogs” and “Hide Your Smiling Faces”

Film Heritage:
“Too Much Johnson”
“American Treasures From the New Zealand Film Archive”
“Allan Dwan and the Rise and Decline of the Hollywood Studios”
“The Hitchcock 9″

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox