Back to IndieWire

Listen: Arcade Fire’s Complete Score For Spike Jonze’s ‘Her’

Listen: Arcade Fire’s Complete Score For Spike Jonze’s ‘Her’

An Oscar nominee in five categories, perhaps the most pleasantly surprising nod Spike Jonze‘s “Her” received was for Best Original Score, credited to Will Butler and Owen Pallett, but performed by Arcade Fire. And yet, even with the critical acclaim for the movie, and the biggest-band-on-the-planet status for the group, the film is still without an official soundtrack or even a release date. It’s still not clear when or how we’ll be able to own Arcade Fire’s score (which sits alongside some other choice songs in the movie), so this will have to appease for you now (until it’s probably eventually yanked).

Thirteen songs comprising what appears to be the complete score for “Her” have landed on YouTube, presumably uh, shared, by some kind of For Your Consideration disc (indeed, it’s listed as a FYC Promo). And what else can we say, except that it’s a must listen? The band’s work in the movie is integral to its melancholy mood and tenor, and it’s some fine music all on its own and certainly deserves the recognition it received from the Academy. Yep, that’s “Supersymmetry” from Reflektor on there too, but it should be noted it was written for “Her” first.

Anyway, enough talk: listen below. And if you missed it, be sure to check out the 15-minute documentary “Her: Love In The Modern Age” by clicking right here.

“Her” Soundtrack

1. Sleepwalker
2. Milk & Honey
3. Loneliness #3 (Night Talking)
4. Divorce Papers
5. Morning Talk/Supersymmetry
6. Some Other Place
7. Song On The Beach
8. Loneliness #4 (Other People’s Letters)
9. Owl
10. Photograph
11. Milk & Honey (Alan Watts & 641)
12. We’re All Leaving
13. Dimensions

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox