Back to IndieWire

Idaho’s Glorious Sun Valley Film Festival Unveils 2014 Prize Winners

Idaho's Glorious Sun Valley Film Festival Unveils 2014 Prize Winners

Give it a few years, and the Sun Valley Film Festival, nestled in the Gem State’s titular resort town, a haven for Hollywood types throughout the years, could be a spring Telluride — an “it”-event that cinephiles and industry bigwigs won’t want to miss. 

Below is the full list of 2014 Sun Valley awards winners. The jury: producer Caspar von Winterfeldt, director Fredrik Bond (“Charlie Countryman”), actor Peter Cambor (“NCIS Los Angeles”), actor Michael Weaver, actress Pell James Burns (“Lincoln Lawyer,” “Zodiac”) and director William Olsson (“An American Affair”).

Vision Award

“Little Accidents” (dir. Sara Colangelo, producers Jason Berman, Anne Carey, Tom Fore and Summer Shelton)

“One-In-A-Million Awards,” honoring feature length films made for under $1 million:

Narrative — “Blue Ruin” (dir. Jeremy Saulnier)

Documentary — “Antarctica: A Year on Ice” (dir. Anthony Powell)

Audience Award:

“Supermensch” (dir. Mike Myers)

Gem State Award, honoring an Idaho filmmaker:

          Andrew and Nathan Garcia for “The Lighthouse”

Gem State Junior Award, recognizing the best short film made by an Idaho student 18 or younger:

Ethan Holt, “The Mind Absent of Silence”

Hot Shot Award, presented to the best film helmed by a student filmmaker:

Malone Lumarda, “Black Rock Creek” 

Shorty Award, presented to best short story film:

“Le Refuge” (dir. Elliot Thomson)
Focus Award, celebrating a cinematographer:
Zack Spiger, “Run”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox