Back to IndieWire

Oscar Nominees Win Big at 2014 Independent Spirit Awards (Full Winners List & Red Carpet Videos)

Oscar Nominees Win Big at 2014 Independent Spirit Awards (Full Winners List & Red Carpet Videos)

Saturday’s alternative to the Oscars went down in blustery Santa Monica today. As usual, many of the low-budget Oscar contenders (under $20 million) took home Indie Spirit awards. “12 Years a Slave” scored Best feature, Director and supporting actress. Matthew McConaughey conquered Chiwetel Ejiofor for Best Actor.

On the red carpet, publicists shuttled most of the A-list stars–Matthew McConaughey, Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie among them–quickly past my post, but I was able to chat with a few nominees including Nicole Holofcener, John Ridley, Jared Leto and the cast and crew of “Short Term 12” — minus Brie Larson, clearly being groomed by her publicists –who all had revealing things to say. (Watch my video coverage after the jump.)

While graciously, as ever, accepting the Best Actress award, Cate Blanchett opined, “Why were there only five female nominations but six male nominations? Did anyone see Greta Gerwig in ‘Frances Ha’?” No question, she is safe tomorrow night at the Oscars. 

“12 Years a Slave,” without “Gravity” or “American Hustle” to compete with, of course swept the night. First feature was won handily by “Fruitvale,” while “Nebraska” tooke home a win for first screenplay. The first ever editing award at the Indie Spirits was handed to “Short Term 12. We interviewed star/nominee Keith Stanfield on the red carpet. Watch that video after the jump.

The edited Spirit Awards show, hosted by Patton Oswalt, will air on IFC tonight at 10 pm eastern, 9 PM central, 7 pm Pacific.

Check my Spirits picks at Goldderby. 

Best First Screenplay: Bob Nelson, “Nebraska”
Best Supporting Male: Jared Leto, “Dallas Buyers Club”
Best First Feature: “Fruitvale Station”
Best Editing: “Short Term 12”
Robert Altman Award: Jeff Nichols and the cast of “Mud”
Best Screenplay: John Ridley, “12 Years A Slave” (red carpet interview here)
John Cassavetes Award: “This Is Martin Bonner”
Best Cinematography: “12 Years A Slave”
Best Supporting Actress: Lupita Nyong’o, “12 Years A Slave”
Best International Film: “Blue Is The Warmest Color”
Best Documentary: “Twenty Feet From Stardom”
Someone to Watch Award: Shaka King (“Newlyweeds” director)
Best Director: Steve McQueen, “12 Years A Slave”
Best Actress: Cate Blanchett, “Blue Jasmine”
Best Actor: Matthew McConaughey, “Dallas Buyers Club”
Best Feature: “12 Years A Slave”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox