Back to IndieWire

The Maguey Award Reasserts its Commitment to Promote Tolerance Towards Sexual Diversity

The Maguey Award Reasserts its Commitment to Promote Tolerance Towards Sexual Diversity

Taking advantage of the impact that film has on modern society and aiming to promote a culture of tolerance and non- discrimination, the Guadalajara International Film Festival in ist 29th edition (FICG29) presents the Maguey Award (Premio Maguey) for the third consecutive year, an accolade to films whose narratives reveal an open sexuality, a cinema of acceptance towards sexual diversity in all its manifestations, cinema that gives a voice to “minorities” whom up to now have resisted oppression.

Maguey Award favors LGBTTTI cinema (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual,
Transsexual, Transvestite, Transgender, and Intersexual) that aims to
eradicate homophobia and sexual discrimination around the world. 

A total of 18 films from 14 countries form the Official Selection compete for the Maguey Award 03.  The titles are Free Fall (Germany), Snails in the Rain (Israel), The Dune aka La Dune (France/ Israel),
Test (U.S.), Sarah Prefers To Run (Canada),
Off Road (Italy), Four Moons aka Cuatro Lunas (Mexico),
Gerontophilia (Canada), Out in the Line Up (Australia),
Tom at the Farm (Canada/ France), 
Floating Skyscrapers (Poland),
gnasi M (Spain), Land of Storms (Hungary/ Germany),
Getting Go; the Go Doc Project (U.S.), Julia (Germany/ Italy),
Dual (Slovenia)the Winner of the Teddy Award 2014 The Way He Looks aka Hoje Eu Quero Voltar Sozinho (Brazil) ),
and Bad Hair aka Pelo Malo (Venezuela).

As in in previous editions, this year five awards will be handed out: The Posthumous Homage Maguey Award, which will be dedicated to Divine, an eccentric personality who worked with director John Waters and whose irreverent personality transcended the big screen. Ruby Rich and Roberto Espejo will be awarded the Queer Icon Maguey Award for their work which dignifies and promotes a stance in favor of the LGBTTTI community’s rights. And Wieland Speck, founder of the Teddy Award and Director of the Panorama section at the Berlinale will be honored with the Trajectory Maguey Award.

The last award to be handed out — and the most relevant — is the Maguey Award for Best Film 2014, which will be determined by a team of outstanding personalities from the Queer cinematic landscape with internationally recognized careers:  Benoît Arnulf, Artistic Director of In&Out, the queer film festival in Nice, France, Katharine Setzer, Director of Programming of image+nation in Canada; Michael Stütz, Programming Consultant for the Panorama section and Coordination of the Teddy Awards during the Berlinale, as well as Co-director of the XPOSED Festival also in Berlin; David Ramón, Founder and Director of the UNAM’s Gay Film Festival and Kim
, Programmer for the Sundance Film Festival and Artistic Director of Outfest Los Ángeles.

As part of the activities around the Maguey Award to secure its promise of breaking social paradigms, a curated selection by Jürgen Brüningdirector of the Porn Film Festival Berlin of the best Porn cinema will be presented.

In collaboration with the San Sebastian Film Festival and the Sebastianese Award, the Winner of the Concha de Oro Award, Bad Hair (Pelo Malo) will be screened.  Also, in an alliance with the Teddy Award, like in the two previous editions, the winner of such award during its recent 28th edition, The Way He Looks, will also be shown.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,