Back to IndieWire

Watch Cate Blanchett, Jared Leto, Steve McQueen And More Accept Their 2014 Spirit Awards

Watch Cate Blanchett, Jared Leto, Steve McQueen And More Accept Their 2014 Spirit Awards

The 2014 Independent Spirit Awards took place this past weekend, on Saturday, March 1st. While an edited version of the ceremony aired on IFC, the full speeches are now available for viewing on YouTube. 

READ MORE: Can Little Indies Hope to Win Big Awards? The Independent Spirit Awards Beg the Question

All videos pertaining to the Spirit Awards — including interviews and highlights, in addition to acceptance speeches — can be found here

These are all the winners, along with the corresponding acceptance speeches:

Best Feature: “12 Years a Slave” (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

Producers: Dede Gardner, Anthony Katagas, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen, Arnon Milchan, Brad Pitt, Bill Pohlad


Best Director: Steve McQueen, “12 Years a Slave” (Fox Searchlight Pictures)


Best Screenplay: John Ridley, “12 Years a Slave” (Fox Searchlight Pictures)


Best First Feature: “Fruitvale Station” (The Weinstein Company)

Director: Ryan Coogler, Producers: Nina Yang Bongiovi, Forest Whitaker


Best First Screenplay: Bob Nelson, “Nebraska” (Paramount Pictures)


John Cassavetes Award (For best feature made under $500,000): “This is Martin Bonner” (Monterey Media inc)

Writer/Director: Chad Hartigan, Producer: Cherie Saulter


Best Supporting Female: Lupita Nyong’o, “12 Years a Slave” (Fox Searchlight Pictures)


Best Supporting Male: Jared Leto, “Dallas Buyers Club” (Focus Features)


Best Female Lead: Cate Blanchett, “Blue Jasmine” (Sony Pictures Classics)


Best Male Lead: Matthew McConaughey, “Dallas Buyers Club” (Focus Features)


Robert Altman Award: “Mud” (Roadside Attractions / Lionsgate)

Director: Jeff Nichols, Casting Director: Francine Maisler, Ensemble Cast: Joe Don Baker, Jacob Lofland, Matthew McConaughey, Ray McKinnon, Sarah Paulson, Michael Shannon, Sam Shepard, Tye Sheridan, Paul Sparks, Bonnie Sturdivant, Reese Witherspoon


Best Cinematography: Sean Bobbitt, “12 Years a Slave” (Fox Searchlight Pictures)


Best Editing: Nat Sanders, “Short Term 12” (Cinedigm)


Best Documentary: “20 Feet From Stardom”(Radius-TWC)

Director/Producer: Morgan Neville, Producers: Gil Friesen, Caitrin Rogers


Note: “Blue is the Warmest Color” won Best International Film but no one from the film was present at the ceremony.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox