Back to IndieWire

2014 Tribeca Film Festival Winners Include ‘Zero Motivation,’ ‘Point and Shoot’ and more

2014 Tribeca Film Festival Winners Include 'Zero Motivation,' 'Point and Shoot' and more

The 13th Annual Tribeca Film Festival awarded the winners of its competition categories tonight. Israeli director Talya Lavie’s female soldier dark comedy “Zero Motivation” led the pack with two awards: Best Narrative Feature and the Nora Ephron Prize, given to a female writer or director with a distinctive voice.

“The Kidnapping of Houellebecq” won Special Jury Mention in the Narrative Feature competition while also picking up a prize for Best Screenplay. Paul Schneider picked up Best Actor for “Goodbye to All That,” while Valeria Bruni Tedeschi won the Best Actress award for “Human Capital.”

In the World Documentary Competition, “Point and Shoot,” Marshall Curry’s film about an American at the front lines of the Libyan Revolution, won the Best Documentary Feature prize, with a Special Jury Mention going to “Regarding Susan Sontag.” 

The full list of winners is below.

World Narrative Competition

The Founders Award for Best Narrative Feature – “Zero Motivation”
Special Jury Mention: “The Kidnapping of Michel Houellebecq”

Best Actor in a Narrative Feature Film – Paul Schneider,  “Goodbye to All That”

Best Actress in a Narrative Feature Film – Valeria Bruni Tedeschi as Carla Bernaschi, “Human Capital”

Best Cinematography – Damian García, “Güeros”

Best Screenplay – Guillaume Nicloux, “The Kidnapping of Michel Houellebecq”

Best Narrative Editing – Keith Miller, “Five Star”

World Documentary Competition

Best Documentary Feature – “Point and Shoot”
Special Jury Mention: “Regarding Susan Sontag”

Best Documentary Editing – Sabne Lubbe Bakker and Niels van Koevorden, “Ne Me Quitte Pas”

Best New Narrative Director Competition

Best New Narrative Director – Josef Wladyka, “Manos Sucias”
Special Jury Mention: Alonso Ruizpalacios, “Güeros”
Best New Documentary Director Competition

Best New Documentary Director – Alan Hicks, “Keep On Keepin’ On”

Short Film Competition

Best Narrative Short – “The Phone Call”

Best Documentary Short – “One Year Lease”
Special Jury Mention: “The Next Part”

Student Visionary Award – “Nesma’s Bird”
Special Jury Mention: “Cycloid”
Bombay Sapphire Award for Transmedia

Bombay Sapphire Award for Transmedia: “Clouds”
The Nora Ephron Prize

The Nora Ephron Prize: “Zero Motivation”
Special Jury Mention: “I Won’t Come Back”

Tribeca Online Festival

Tribeca Online Festival Best Feature Film: “Vara: A Blessing”

Tribeca Online Festival Best Short Film: “Love in the Time of March Madness”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged , , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox