Back to IndieWire

Jane Campion-Led 2014 Cannes Jury is Majority Female

Jane Campion-Led 2014 Cannes Jury is Majority Female

Five women will sit on the nine-person Cannes jury, which means there will be 2.5 women jurors for every woman director in competition. As we reported earlier this month, only two of the 18 filmmakers contending for the grand prix are female.

Joining jury president Jane Campion — the only female winner of the Palme d’Or for The Piano — are Sofia Coppola and actresses Carole Bouquet of France, Leila Hatami of Iran, and Do-yeon Jeon of South Korea. 

The other jurors are Willem Dafoe, Mexican actor Gael Garcia Bernal, Chinese director Jia Zhangke, and Danish director Nicolas Winding Refn. 

The 2014 jury will represent eight countries and five continents. It will be the first women-dominated jury at the festival since 2009. 

[h/t HitFix]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged , , , , ,