Back to IndieWire

Jane Campion’s Cannes Jury Revealed

Jane Campion's Cannes Jury Revealed

The 2014 Cannes Film Festival (May 14-25) is inching ever closer and in spirit, the fest has revealed the eight Competition jury members who will hit the Croisette under president Jane Campion. They are:

Carole BOUQUET (Actress — France)

Sofia COPPOLA (Director, Screenwriter, Producer– United States)

Leila HATAMI (Actress — Iran)

JEON Do-yeon (Actress— South Korea)

Willem DAFOE (Actor— United States)

Gael GARCIA BERNAL (Actor, Director, Producer — Mexico)

JIA Zhangke (Director, Screenwriter, Producer — China) 

Nicolas Winding REFN (Director, Screenwriter, Producer — Denmark)

Wouldn’t they make a fun party? Putting that (and any “Hateful Eight” puns) aside, these are eight individuals of great taste and enormous respect in the international film community. And most, if not all, have been to Cannes before. Refn won Best Director for “Drive” in 2011. Jia’s “A Touch of Sin” won Best Screenplay last year.

They’ll be the judge of the 2014 Cannes Main Competition lineup. The fate of the Palme d’Or is in their hands.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged , , , , , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox