Back to IndieWire

Nashville Film Festival Award Winners Include ‘Glen Campbell…I’ll Be Me’ and ‘Club Sandwich’

Nashville Film Festival Award Winners Include 'Glen Campbell...I'll Be Me' and 'Club Sandwich'

The Nashville Film Festival has announced the 45th Annual Competition winners, with the Gibson Music City/Music Films Award Grand Jury Prize going to the documentary “Glen Campbell…I’ll Be Me,” about the country music legend’s battle with Alzheimer’s (which recently sent him to a long-term care facility).

An honorable mention went to “The Ballad of Shovels and Rope,” about the folk duo, which also won the Ground Zero Tennessee Spirit Award for Best Feature.

The Grand Jury Prize winner of the Bridgestone Narrative Competition was Mexican director Fernando Eimbcke’s “Club Sandwich,” the bittersweet tale of a young single mother and her teenage son dealing with his coming of age. “Little Brother” earned an honorable mention.

In the Documentary Competition, the Grand Jury Prize went to “BESA: The Promise,” about Nazi-occupied Albania and the protection of the Jews by the mostly Muslim population. An honorable mention went to the Joe Paterno documentary “Happy Valley,” while a Special Jury Prize was awarded to “Kidnapped for Christ.”

The New Directors Narrative Competition prizewinner was “Before I Disappear,” whcih premiered at SXSW, while the Graveyard Shift Competition Award went to the controversial German coming-of-age film “Wetlands.”

The full list of winners is below.

Gibson Music City/Music Films Award

Grand Jury Prize: Glen Campbell…I’ll Be Me 

Honorable Mention: The Ballad of Shovels and Rope

Bridgestone Narrative Competition Award Winners

Grand Jury Prize: Club Sandwich 

Honorable Mention: Little Brother

Best Actor: Manolis Mavromatakis, The Enemy Within

Best Actress: Britt Robertson, Undiscovered Gyrl

Documentary Competition Award Winners

Grand Jury Prize: BESA: The Promise 

Honorable Mention: Happy Valley

Special Jury Prize: Kidnapped for Christ

New Directors Narrative Competition Awards

Grand Jury Prize: Before I Disappear 

Honorable Mention: 1982

Honorable Mention: Drunktown’s Finest

Best Actor: Jeremiah Bitsui, Drunktown’s Finest

Best Actress: Catalina Sandino Moreno, Medeas

Graveyard Shift Competition Awards

Grand Jury Prize for Feature Film: Wetlands

Honorable Mention for Feature Film: You and the Night

Best Actor: Eric Cantona, You and the Night

Best Actress: Carla Juri, Wetlands and Robin Wright, The Congress (Tie)

Grand Jury Prize for Short Film: The Voice Thief

Honorable Mention for Short Film: Kekasih

Special Jury Prize for Direction:  
Helene Cattet & Bruno Forzani – The Strange Colour of Your Body’s Tears

Special Jury Prize for Cinematography 
Manuel Dacosse – The Strange Colour of Your Body’s Tears

Louise LeQuire Award for Best Screenplay

Bernard Attal, The Invisible Collection

Special Jury Prize for Art and Activism

Alive Inside:  A Film About Memory and Music

Special Jury Prize for GLBT Filmmaking

The Case Against 8 – Ben Cotner & Ryan White

Special Jury Prize for Original Vision



Jury Prize for Cultural Significance 

Love Me

Best Original Song in a Feature Film

“Davina” from I Believe in Unicorns – Sasha Gordon, Composer

Film Musicians Secondary Market Fund Best Music in a Feature Film

Undiscovered Gyrl

Best Feature Film by a Woman | Presented by WIFT

The Winding Stream 

Best Short Directed by a Woman | Presented by WIFT


NPT Human Spirit Award 

The Starfish Throwers 

Nashville Area Hispanic Chamber of Commerce Award

The Invisible Collection

Lipscomb Ecumenical Prize


Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox