Back to IndieWire

European Film Promotion Announces Producers on the Move in Cannes 2014

European Film Promotion Announces Producers on the Move in Cannes 2014

Based on their outstanding careers forged on international co-productions, 24 up-and-coming players in the European film industry have been selected to take part in European Film Promotion‘s (EFP) networking platform Producers on the Move. Now in its 15th year, EFP spotlights emerging European
producers at the Cannes Film Festival from May 17-19 and helps them embark on successful cooperation with their similarly ambitious Producers on the Move colleagues from all over Europe.

The programas been financially supported by the MEDIA Program (2007-2013) of the European Union and the
participating EFP member organizations who each made a careful selection of their national participants according to specific criteria.

The schedule of Producers on the Move includes working sessions, one-to-one speed-dating meetings and various opportunities to exchange knowledge and
follow up discussions on future projects. In addition, EFP will be teaming up with the European cultural channel ARTE and the pan-European co-production
fund Eurimages for Producers on the Move. For the first time, Eurimages has prepared a case study exclusively for EFP’s program to be discussed under the
direction of Eurimages Executive Director Roberto Olla.

He points out the importance of programs such as Producers on the Move:

“This is the 4th consecutive year that Eurimages is involved with this initiative which perfectly marries our objectives of encouraging co-operation
between producers so as to stimulate cinematographic co-productions and of promoting their international distribution. Further to the success of the
collaboration at the Cannes Festival, the Eurimages Fund has strengthened its partnership with European Film Promotion through other initiatives which
also seek to unite professionals from the European film industry in order to participate in its development on an international level.”

Looking back at previous editions, EFP’s programme results each year in several new trans-national co-productions and gives the producers a higher profile
in Cannes. For 2013, almost all of the participants are still in contact with one another and 17 co-productions are in development.

One recent success story is the coming-of-age feature The Word, directed by Anna Kazejak and co-produced by two Producers on the Move from 2011, Lukasz Dzieciol(Opus Film, Poland) and Jesper Morthorst (SF Film Production, Denmark). The film was released in Poland in March after its premiere at the
Berlinale in the Generation sidebar.

Currently in post is Dirk Ohm – The Illusionist That Disappeared, directed by Bobbie Peers. The producer Maria Ekerhovd (Mer Film AS, Norway), joined
forces for this film with her Producers on the Move colleague from 2011, Gian-Piero Ringel (Neue Road Movies, Germany) and the 2010 Producers on the Move,
Lizette Jonjic (Migma Film, Sweden). Norway has scheduled the release for September 2014. Ekerhovd and Ringel also worked together for two further
projects: Every Thing Will Be Fine by Wim Wenders and the six episodes for Cathedrals of Culture which have been presented at this year’s Berlinale.

The following producers were selected by the EFP member organizations:

Director: Maya Vitkova

Producer: Maya Vitkova

Viktoria Films, Bulgaria

selected by Bulgarian National Film Centre

Gangster of Love
Director: Nebojša Slijepcevic

Producer: Vanja Jambrović

Restart, Croatia

selected by Croation Audiovisual Centre

Burning Bush

Director: Agnieszka Holland

Producer: Tomáš Hrubỳ

Nutprodukce, Czech Republic

selected by Czech Film Center

Director: Ask Hasselbalch

Producer: Eva Jakobsen

Nimbus Film, Denmark

selected by Danish Film Institute

Concrete Night 

Director: Pirjo Honkasalo

Producer: Mark Lwoff

Bufo, Finland

selected by Finnish Film Foundation


Director: Eric Rochant

Producer: Mathias Rubin

Récifilms, France

selected by UniFrance films

Director: Tinatin Kajrishvili

Producer: Tinatin Kajrishvili

Gemini, Georgia

selected by Georgian National Film Center

The Special Need
Director: Carlo Zoratti

Producer: Henning Kamm

Detailfilm, Germany

selected by German Films

Standing Aside, Watching
Director: Yorgos Servetas

Producer: Konstantin Kontovrakis

Heretic Creative Producer, Greece

selected by Greek Film Centre

Land of Storms

Director: Adam Csaszi

Producer: Eszter Gyárfás

Proton Cinema, Hungary

selected by Magyar Filmunió/ Hungarian National Film Fund

Director: Ragnar Bragason

Producer: Árni Filippusson

Mystery, Iceland

selected by Icelandic Fim Centre

You’re Ugly Too

Director: Mark Noonan

Producer: John Keville

SP Films, Ireland

selected by Irish Film Board

Black Souls

Director: Francesco Munzi

Producer: Olivia Musini

Cinemaundici, Italy

selected by Istituto Luce Cinecittà

Monument to Michael Jackson
Director: Darko Lungulov

Co-Producer: Ognen Antov

Dream Factory Macedonia, FYR of Macedonia

selected by Macedonian Film Agency

The Ascent
Director: Nemanja Becanovic

Producer: Ivan Djurović

Artikulacija Production, Montenegro

selected by Ministry of Culture of Montenegro

Totally True Love

Director: Anne Sewitsky

Producer: Teréz Hollo-Klausen

Anna Kron Film, Norway

selected by Norwegian Film Institute

Fuck for Forest

Director: Michal Marczak

Producer: Mikołaj Pokromski

Pokromski Studio, Poland

selected by Polish Film Institute

Director: Jason Butler

Producer: Nuno Bernardo

beActive Entertainment, Portugal

selected by ICA I.P. / Portugal

Slovakia 2.0

Director: Iveta Grófová, Juraj Herz, Martin Šulík, Miro Jelok, Mišo Suchý, Ondrej Rudavský, Peter Kerekes, Peter Krištúfek, Viera Cákanyová,
Zuzana Liová

Producer: Mátyás Prikler

MPhilms, Slovak Republic

selected by Slovak Film Institute

The Extraordinary Tale
Director: José F. Ortuño, Laura Alvea

Producer: Marta Velasco

Áralan Films, Spain

selected by ICAA / Spain

Beyond Beyond
Director: Esben Toft Jacobsen

Producer: Petter Lindblad

Snowcloud Films, Sweden

selected by Swedish Film Institute

Ate Ver La Luz

Director: Basil da Cunha

Producer: Elodie Brunner

Box Productions, Switzerland

selected by Swiss Films

Secrets of War

Director: Dennis Bots

Producer: David Bijker

Bijker Film & TV, The Netherlands

selected by EYE International


Director: Andrew Haigh

Producer: Tristan Goligher

The Bureau Film Company, United Kingdom

selected by British Council

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged , , , , , , , , ,