Back to IndieWire

Docs on Nazis, Highrises and Amanda Palmer Take Top Prizes at Sheffield Doc/Fest Awards

Docs on Nazis, Highrises and Amanda Palmer Take Top Prizes at Sheffield Doc/Fest Awards

The 2014 Sheffield Doc/Fest awards were presented this morning at The Crucible Theater in Sheffield, UK, with the Special Jury Award going to Jacqui Morris & David Morris’s “Attacking The Devil: Harold Evans and the Last Nazi War Crime,”. 

READ MORE: Here’s What We Learned from Joe Berlinger’s Master Class

The Special Jury consisted of Mark Cousins (Filmmaker, UK), Eugene Hernandez (Film Society
of Lincoln Center, USA), Kate Kinninmont (MBE, Chief
Executive of Women in Film & TV, UK), Karolina Lidin (Film Consultant,
Denmark) and Dawn Porter (Director/Producer,

Of “Attacking The Devil,” jury member Dawn Porter said, “We
unanimously found this film to be an elegant examination of complex themes. We
appreciated his film on all levels – it is a work approached with relevance and
rigor, a historical film that feels contemporary and engaging, blossoms like a
novel, and is surprising when least expected, epic in its scope, traversing
decades and exploring big themes while revealing intimate details.” 

The jury also gave honorable mention to “Night Will Fall” (dir.
Andre Singer, United Kingdom/Unites States/Israel), which Porter praised, saying “This intellectually bracing film reveals the power of documentary
and why it matters. It challenges us to never take anything for granted. With
skill and grace this film is a remarkable achievement reminding of the need to
never forget.”

READ MORE: Making a Living as a Documentary Filmmaker Is Harder Than Ever. Here’s Why

Here is the complete list of winners:

Special Jury Award
“Attacking The Devil:
Harold Evans and the Last Nazi War Crime” (directors Jacqui Morris & David Morris, United

Sheffield Innovation Award
“A Short History of
the Highrise”
(Dir. Katerina Cizek, Canada/United States)    

Sheffield Green Award
“Unearthed” (Dir. Jolynn Minnaar, South Africa)   

Sheffield Youth Jury Award
“The Internet’s Own
Boy: The Story of Aaron Swartz” (Dir. Brian
Knappenberger, United States)   

Sheffield Student Doc Award
“Our Curse” (Dir. Tomasz
Sliwinski, Poland)   

Sheffield Short Doc Award
“Amanda F***ing Palmer
on the Rocks” (Dir. Ondi Timoner,
United States)   

The Tim Hetherington Award
Documentarist” (Directors: Shirin Barghnavard,
Firouzeh Khosrovani, Farhnaz Sharifi, Mina Keshavarz, Sepideh Abtahi, Sahar
Salahshoor and Nahid Rezaei, Iran    

The First Peter Wintonick Award Celebrating Activist Filmmaking
“Vessel” (Dir. Diana Whitten, United States)   

The Inspiration Award was given to Laura Poitras, who dedicated her award to Edward Snowden, Glenn Greenwald,
Jacob Appelbaum, William Binney, Julian Assange and Sarah Harrison. 

The Sheffield Doc/Fest Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Roger Graef. “The privilege of fifty years of working in
this industry has been to share the private lives of a great many people,” Graef said. 

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox