Back to IndieWire

Nantucket Film Festival Presents Awards to ‘Boyhood,’ ‘The Case Against 8’ and More

Nantucket Film Festival Presents Awards to 'Boyhood,' 'The Case Against 8' and More

The Nantucket Film Festival, a destination festival dedicated to the craft of screenwriting, has released the list of winners for its 19th installment. Last year’s winners included “Short Term 12” and “Life According to Sam” which went on to be hits upon release; a huge boost for the festival and this year’s winners for storytelling and writing in both narrative and documentary film.

READ MORE: Aaron Sorkin On How He Almost Didn’t Pitch ‘The West Wing’ And Why ‘The Newsroom’ is Ending

The prestigious Showtime Tony Cox Award, given to best emerging screenwriter, was awarded to Nathan and David Zellner for “Kumiko, The Treasure Hunter,” and top honors for Best Writer/Director went to Richard Linklater for his ambitious “Boyhood.” Check out the full list of winners below:

Showtime Tony Cox Award for Best Screenwriting in a Feature Film:
Nathan and David Zellner, “Kumiko, the Treasure Hunter”

Showtime Tony Cox Award for Best Screenwriting in a Short Film:
Bernardo Britto, “Yearbook”

Audience Award for Best Film:
“Last Days in Vietnam” by Rory Kennedy

Audience Award for Best Short:
“The Bravest, the Boldest” by Moon Molson and Eric Fallen

Best Writer/Director presented by Vimeo:
Richard Linklater, “Boyhood”

Best Storytelling in a Documentary Feature:
Robert Greene, “Actress”

Audience Award for Best Film, Runner-Up:
The Case Against 8” by Ben Cotner and Ryan White

Adrienne Shelley Award for Excellence in Filmmaking, to the Best Female Filmmaker:
Diana Whitten, “Vessel”

Screenplay Competition for Feature Film:
Clark Carroll, “Early Plus Infinity”

Short Screenplay:
Mimi Jeffries, “Open Road”

Hour-Long TV Pilot:
Jamie Mayer, “Tomorrowland”

Half-Hour TV Pilot:
Stu Feldman, “Stiffs”

Short Film Jury Award for Best Short Film, presented by Fuzzrocket:
“Yearbook” by Bernardo Britto

Teen View Jury Award:
“The Hyperglot” by Michael Urie and Michael Levi Harris

A&E Special Achievement in Documentary Storytelling Award:
Steve James, “Life Itself”

New Voices in Screenwriting Award:
Mike Cahill, “I Origins”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox