Back to IndieWire

‘One Chance’ and ‘Alive Inside’ Top Provincetown International Film Festival Audience Award Winners

'One Chance' and 'Alive Inside' Top Provincetown International Film Festival Audience Award Winners

The 2014 Provincetown International Film Festival wrapped last night with a closing night party where this year’s winners were announced. HBO, the event’s key sponsor, backed this year’s Audience Awards, which went to David Frankel’s feel good drama “One Dance” (Best Narrative Feature) and Michael Rossato-Bennett’s “Alive Inside” (Best Documentary Feature). The ladies from Tangerine Entertainment (a production company launched last year to promote films by women directors), Anne Hubbell and Amy Hobby, were on hand to hand out their company’s Juice Award presented to a female filmmaker for her first or second narrative feature, to Desiree Akhavan for her autobiographical comedy “Appropriate Behavior.”

READ MORE: Tired of Disgruntled New York Hipster Comedies? ‘Appropriate Behavior’ Is a Welcome Update to the Formula

The festival also revealed its dates for next year’s edition: June 17-21, 2015.

Full list of winners below:

HBO Audience Award / Best Narrative Feature: “One Chance” (directed by David Frankel)
HBO Audience Award / Best Documentary Feature: “Alive Inside” (directed by Michael Rossato-Bennett)
HBO Audience Award / Best Short Film: “Kehinde Wiley: An Economy of Grace” (directed by Jeff Dupre)
The John Schlesinger Award, presented to a first time documentary or
narrative feature filmmaker: “Keep On Keepin’ On” (directed by Alan Hicks)
Tangerine Entertainment Juice Award, presented to a female filmmaker
for her first or second narrative feature: “Appropriate Behavior”
(directed by Desiree Akhavan)
Jury Award / Live Action Short Film: tie, “The Clean Up” (directed by Jesse Allen) and “Jump” (directed by Aimee-Lee Curran)
Jury Award / Animated Short Film: “The Missing Scarf” (directed by Eoin Duffy)
Jury Award / New England Short Film: “We Could Be Your Parents” (directed by Charlie Anderson)
Jury Award / Student Short Film: “Jump” (directed by Aimee-Lee Curran)
mentions in the Short Film Jury Awards category include “Dog Food”
(directed by Brian Crano), “Families Are Forever” (directed by Vivian
Kleiman) and “The Lion’s Mouth Opens” (directed by Lucy Walker). The Short
Film Jury consisted of musician Stephin Merritt, actress Kara Hayward
and last year’s Shorts Audience Award winner Marnie Crawford Samuelson.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox