Back to IndieWire

‘Ping Pong Summer’ Soundtrack Features The Fat Boys, Mr. Mister, New Edition, Whodini & More

'Ping Pong Summer' Soundtrack Features The Fat Boys, Mr. Mister, New Edition, Whodini & More

Looking for a little throwback flavor to your summer movie viewing? Something a little retro, perhaps a bit lo-fi, but with its heart in the right place? Well, “Ping Pong Summer” could fit the bill. The Sundance comedy is coming to theatres today, and if the movie doesn’t grab you, perhaps the soundtrack will.

Comprised largely of ’80s jams, “Ping Pong Summer” is mixtape ready, so grab your Nikes and a boombox and check it out. From hip-hop novelty act The Fat Boys to the earnest crooning of Mr. Mister, to the snazzy troupe New Edition to the we-barely-remember-you Mary Jane Girls, this one feels like it needs to be put on cassette. Either way, it feels perfect for the 1985-set coming-of-age story that brings together the cast of Susan Sarandon, John Hannah, Lea Thompson, Amy Sedaris, Robert Longstreet and newcomer Marcello Conte.

“Ping Pong Summer” opens today is on VOD. The soundtrack is just a click away on your preferred digital outlet. Tracklisting and samples below. [Film Music Reporter]

Ping Pong Summer Soundtrack Tracklisting
1. Stick ‘Em – The Fat Boys (4:27)
2. Tough All Over – John Cafferty & the Beaver Brown Band (4:33)
3. In My House – Mary Jane Girls (3:59)
4. Friends – Whodini (4:37)
5. Popcorn Love – New Edition (4:54)
6. Ping Pong Summer Suite – Michael Montes (4:58)
7. Friends Forever – Angelo Jannotti (3:01)
8. Fresh Is the Word – Mantronix (5:30)
9. Broken Wings – Mr. Mister (5:40)
10. No Parking On the Dance Floor – Midnight Star (4:28)
11. Young Champion – Hammer Throw (4:53)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox