Back to IndieWire

Academy Elects New Board of Governors: Who Stays–and Who Goes

Academy Elects New Board of Governors: Who Stays--and Who Goes

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Board of Governors has voted in a new board–as they do every year, as various members’ terms expire. They include five first-time governors, eight reelected incumbents and four returning previous governors. The Academy’s 17 branches, including the new casting Directors Branch, are each represented by three governors for a total of 51 spots. They may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. The Academy has been trying to beef up the number of women on the Board. By my count they now number 14, including studio chief Amy Pascal, producer Kathleen Kennedy, director Kathryn Bigelow, writer Robin Swicord, and actress Annette Bening. 
The first-time governors: Kate Amend, Documentary Branch; Daniel R. Fellman, Executives Branch; Albert Berger, Producers Branch; Bob Rogers, Short Films and Feature Animation Branch; and Mark Mangini, Sound Branch.
The reelected governors: Annette Bening, Actors Branch; Lora Kennedy, Casting Directors Branch; Jeffrey Kurland, Costume Designers Branch; Rick Carter, Designers Branch; Michael Tronick, Film Editors Branch; Kathryn Blondell, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch; Cheryl Boone Isaacs, Public Relations Branch; and Phil Robinson, Writers Branch.
Returning to the Board after a hiatus: Caleb Deschanel, Cinematographers Branch; Edward Zwick, Directors Branch; Charles Bernstein, Music Branch; and Bill Taylor, Visual Effects Branch.
Governors who were not up for reelection and who continue on the Board: Ed Begley, Jr. and Tom Hanks, Actors Branch; David Rubin and Bernard Telsey, Casting Directors Branch; John Bailey and Dante Spinotti, Cinematographers Branch; Deborah Nadoolman Landis and Judianna Makovsky, Costume Designers Branch; Jim Bissell and Jan Pascale, Designers Branch; Kathryn Bigelow and Michael Mann, Directors Branch; Rob Epstein and Alex Gibney, Documentary Branch; Dick Cook and Amy Pascal, Executives Branch; Mark Goldblatt and Lynzee Klingman, Film Editors Branch; Bill Corso and Leonard Engelman, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch; Charles Fox and Arthur Hamilton, Music Branch; Mark Johnson and Kathleen Kennedy, Producers Branch; Rob Friedman and Nancy Utley, Public Relations Branch; Jon Bloom and Bill Kroyer, Short Films and Feature Animation Branch; Curt Behlmer and Scott Millan, Sound Branch; Richard Edlund and John Knoll, Visual Effects Branch; and Bill Condon and Robin Swicord, Writers Branch.  

Among the governors who are leaving the Board: John Lasseter, Short Films and Animation Branch, Lisa Cholodenko, Directors Branch, Michael Apted, Documentary, Robert Rehme, Executive Branch, and Gale Anne Hurd, Producers Branch.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox