Back to IndieWire

Chicken & Egg Pictures Announces Sundance Winner Dawn Porter As New Advisory Board Member

Chicken & Egg Pictures Announces Sundance Winner Dawn Porter As New Advisory Board Member

Chicken & Egg Pictures, a non-profit film fund which supports female non-fiction filmmakers, has today announced five new advisory board members: Michelle Byrd (Principal, Run It By Byrd), Laura Dierks (Board President, Montessori Day School of Brooklyn), Roswitha Mueller-Agarwal, Alexandra Shiva (Director/ Founder, Gidalya Pictures), and Dawn Porter (Director/ Producer/ Founder, Trilogy Films, and a Ridenhour Documentary Film Prize and Candescent Award-winner). The fund also confirmed that its existing members — Dominique Bravo, Angela Jones and Amy Richards — will continue in their positions.

“We are excited to welcome these talented women on the Advisory Board who are committed to supporting our vision for the organization and staying true to our roots: Powerful stories will always come first,” said Jenni Wolfson, Executive Director of Chicken & Egg Pictures. “Earlier this year we set a number of aggressive new goals ahead of our tenth anniversary in 2015 focused on increasing our leadership, capacity, and infrastructure. This has included expanding our advisory board committed to development, communication, successful governance and operations, hiring new professional staff, as well as a commitment to build greater impact campaigns around documentary films. This year we also have a new, special focus, designed to make sure women are both behind and in front of the camera.”

Since 2005, Chicken & Egg Pictures has supported over 160 film projects, providing over $3.3 million in grants and 5,000 hours of direct mentorship to filmmakers, as well as help to connect them with activists, NGOs, film festivals, and others to collaborate for social, economic, and environmental justice. Supported films have gone on to receive various accolades including Academy Awards, Emmy Awards, Peabodys and the Ridenhour Documentary Film Prize. Notable works include Alison Klayman’s “Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry” and Jehane Noujaim’s “The Square.”

For more information check out their website.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox