Back to IndieWire

Filmmaker Magazine Names 2014’s ’25 New Faces of Independent Film’

Filmmaker Magazine Names 2014's '25 New Faces of Independent Film'

Since 1998, Filmmaker Magazine has featured new talent in independent film. Most recently, they featured directors such as Ryan Coogler (“Fruitvale Station”) and Andrew Droz Palermo (“Rich Hill”) as new faces to watch. Past “New Faces” have included breakthroughs such as Lena Dunham (“Girls”), Ryan Gosling (“The
Believer”), Ellen Page (“Hard Candy) and Hilary Swank (“Boys Don’t
Cry”), among many others. Now, the magazine has released their latest list: the “25 New Faces of Independent Film” that highlights some talent that is here to stay. “We can’t wait to see what these filmmakers will do in the years ahead, and we’re excited for you to discover them now,” said the Filmmaker Magazine editors.

READ MORE: Filmmaker Magazine Names 2013’s ’25 New Faces of Independent Film’

The list, however, is not exclusive to directors and encompasses a series of indie-types throughout the industry. On this year’s list, Filmmaker Magazine showcases 17 newbie directors and everyone from a wild sushi-maker to a train-riding experimentalist. 

Filmmaker’s 25 New Faces of Independent Film of 2014 are:

Frances Bodomo: Director of shorts “Boneshaker” and “Afronauts,” the latter of which is being made into a feature film.

Robert EggersDirector of “The Witch,” a feature film currently in post-production that looks at modern-day witch culture.

Jodie Mack: Director of “Dusty Sacks of Mom: The Poster Project,” an animated documentary film about her mother, whose rock-and-roll merchandise business collapsed.

Jessica Dimmock & Christopher LaMarca: Photojournalists who are now collaborating on “Brick,” a documentary film about four transgender women in the Pacific Northwest. “Brick” received a Chicken & Egg grant.

Bernardo BrittoBrazilian director of the short animated film “Yearbook.” He is now working on a live-action feature starring Camille Rutherford.

Jamey Phillips: Director who has been working for years on a documentary about comedian, actor and activist Bill Cosby, particularly about his role with civil rights. 

Scott Cummings: Experimental filmmaker and director of the short film “Buffalo Juggalos,” about the clown subculture.

Zeek Earl & Chris Caldwell: Creators of the production company Shep Films and the upcoming “Prospect,” a short and soon-to-be futuristic western.

:kogonada: Filmmaker whose work has been commissioned by Criterion Collection and Sight & Sound. Now, he is working on two films, one which looks at the films of Yasujirō Ozu and the other a narrative about the role memory plays in cinema. 

Joself Wladyka & Alan Blanco:  Wladyka directed and Blanco shot (both wrote) “Manos Sucias,” a film which won Best New Narrative Director at this year’s Tribeca Film Festival.

Annie Silverstein: Director of “Skunk,” a short film that featured a stolen pit bull, a 14-year-old girl and an aggressive sexual exchange. The film won the top prize at Cannes under the Cinéfondation section.

Matt Sobel: Director and writer of “Take Me to The River,” a film about a kid whose plans on coming out to his family during a reunion in Nebraska go awry when his sees a bloodstain on his younger cousins dress.

Gina Telaroli: Director of short film “Traveling Light” and “Here’s to the Future!,” a film that features Telaroli’s friends reenacting a scene from Michael Curtiz’s 1932 drama “The Cabin in the Cotton.”

READ MORE: You’ve Never Seen A Vampire Movie Like “A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night.”

Ana Lily Amirpour: Director of the Sundance hit “A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night,” which was recently acquired by Kino Lorber.

Janicza Bravo: Director of Sundance Grand Jury Prize-winning short film “Gregory Goes Boom.” 

Lily Henderson: Filmmaker currently adapting author John D’Agata’s nonfiction “About a Mountain.”

Nicole Riegel: Screenwriter of “Dogfight,” a film about growing up in the midwest.

Sean Porter: Cinematographer of Sundance hit “Kumiko, The Treasure Hunter.” 

Darius Clark Monroe: Director of “Evolution of a Criminal,” based on the true story of Monroe’s own experiences robbing a bank when he was a child.  

Rich Vreeland: Composer who recently made the score for David Robert Mitchell’s “It Follows.” 

Charlotte Glynn: Director of the short film “Immaculate Conception,” which won best film, best director and the Adrienne Shelly prize for emerging female director at the Columbia University Film Festival. 

Heidi SamanDirector and writer working on her first feature film “Namour,” which follows an Arab-American valet who wrestles between his Western ambitions and his traditional expectations. 

Dustin Guy Defa: Actor and director of several short films who is now working on a new project, following the SXSW premiere of this years “Person to Person.”

Lev Kalman & Whitney Horn: Both are directors, writers and editors behind Rotterdam submission “L is for Leisure,” a film about a group of attractive graduate students who discuss critical theory and “the end of history” in early ’90s Iceland, France, and California. 

Joe Callander: Director of “Life After Death,” a feature taking place in Rwanda that premiered at True/False.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox