Back to IndieWire

Academy Chooses Five Screenwriting Fellows

Academy Chooses Five Screenwriting Fellows

The winners of the 2014 Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting were announced today by the Academy, which picked three individual writers and one writing team from a record 7,511 submissions. Fellows will get a $35,000 prize and an awards presentation on Thursday, November 13 at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills. The event includes Academy member live-reads of selected scenes from the winning scripts.

This year’s winners are: Sam Baron (UK) for “The Science of Love and Laughter,”  Alisha Brophy (Los Angeles, CA) and Scott Miles, (Austin, TX) for “United States of Fuckin’ Awesome,” Melissa Iqbal (UK) for “The Death Engine” and Sallie West (Charleston, SC) for “Moonflower.”

They will each complete a feature-length screenplay during their fellowship year. Past fellows include  Ehren Kruger who wrote “Transformers: Age of Extinction;” Creighton Rothenberger who co-wrote “The Expendables 3;” Anthony Jaswinski who wrote “Kristy,” which premieres at the upcoming London Film Festival; and Raymond De Felitta who directed “Rob the Mob,” which opened theatrically in March.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox