Back to IndieWire

Alliance of Women Film Journalists Heads to Amsterdam

Alliance of Women Film Journalists Heads to Amsterdam

The Alliance of Women Film Journalists (AWFJ) will jury the AWFJ EDA Awards at this year’s International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam, which is one of the world’s leading documentary film fests. This year’s iteration runs November 19 to 30.

A nonprofit organization of leading female film journalists with members in the US, Canada and UK, the AWFJ annually recognizes women filmmakers with the prestigious EDA Awards at select film festivals and at the end of the year.

At Amsterdam, AWFJ will present the EDA Award for Best Female-Directed Documentary. The fest has already nominated five female-directed feature-length docs. The films, which are all world premieres, are:

“My Beautiful Broken Brain” by Sophie Robinson (England)
“The Queen of Silence” by Agnieszka Zwiefka (Germany/Poland)
“Something Better to Come” by Hanna Polak (Denmark/Poland)
“Tea Time” by Maite Alberdi (Chili)
“Unearthed” by Jolynn Minnaar (South-Africa/Nigeria/US)

AWFJ jury members are: Leba Hertz (San Francisco Chronicle), Katherine McLaughlin (The Arts Desk in London), jury chair Jennifer Merin (Cinema Citizen Blog in NY), Wendy Mitchell (Screen International, London), Dorothy Woodend (The Tyree in Vancouver) and TOH! contributor Susan Wloszczyna (RogerEbert.com)The EDA Award for Best Female-Directed Documentary at IDFA 2014 will presented at the festival on November 26.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox