Back to IndieWire

Darren Aronofsky Named President of Berlin Film Fest Jury

Darren Aronofsky Named President of Berlin Film Fest Jury

Writer/director Darren Aronofsky will serve as president of the Berlin International Film Festival, now approaching its 65th year. Films will compete for the Golden Bear, the top prize of this festival running February 5-15, 2015.

From Mike Leigh to Wong Kar-wai, the Berlinale has tapped international auteurs to head up its jury in the past. The 2014 jury president was screenwriter/producer and former Focus Features CEO James Schamus, another tastemaker who has worked in both studio and independent film.

Aronofsky’s last film was the big-budget biblical epic "Noah," a box office success both overseas and in the US that unfortunately seems to be lost in the shuffle at this point in the Fall awards race.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox