Back to IndieWire

Five Students Win Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards

Five Students Win Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards

Five UCLA students have won Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards, which have honored excellent dramatic writing since 1955. Winners receive $15,000 for first place, $7,500 for second place, $4,000 for third place and $1,000 for the honorable mention. They are:

First Prize: Han-Yee Ling, “Spaghetti Bridges”
Second Prize (tie): Kevin Human, “Hell Is Other Cowboys”
Second Prize (tie): Gaia Violo, “Absentia”
Third Prize: Teresa Sullivan and A.J. Marchisello, “Doublelind”
Honorable Mention: Dan Patrick, “The Village of Sweet Dreams”

Past winners include Francis Ford Coppola, Pamela Gray, Colin Higgins, Eric Roth and novelist Jonathan Kellerman. This year’s judges were Allison Anders, director/writer/producer and Goldwyn Award winner; Ben Feingold, producer and former President Worldwide Home Entertainment, Digital Distribution and Product Acquisitions at Sony Pictures; and Jeremy Kay, U.S. Editor, Screen International.

The prize was founded by late Hollywood producer Samuel Goldwyn, Sr. to encourage young stage, film and TV writers.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox