Back to IndieWire

Listen: Billy Boyd’s “The Last Goodbye” From ‘The Hobbit: The Battle Of The Five Armies’ Plus 2 TV Spots

Listen: Billy Boyd's "The Last Goodbye" From 'The Hobbit: The Battle Of The Five Armies' Plus 2 TV Spots

The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies” opens December 17th, and it’s pretty much a shoo-in to make bank. Even if the hype around Peter Jackson’s second J.R.R. Tolkien franchise isn’t as clamorous as it was when “Lord of the Rings” saved New Line a decade and change ago, “The Hobbit” is a raging cinematic event.

For fans eagerly awaiting the film, which finds Bilbo, Gandalf, Legolas and all the others plunging into a war for Middle-Earth, we have some good news. Two 30-second TV spots for the final “Hobbit” installment have arrived. The first spot is slightly more action-packed, showing Legolas in action and a massive battle in full swing. The second is a little more artistic, offering a great sense of the film’s soundtrack. You can check ’em out below.

Speaking of the soundtrack, more good news! WaterTower Music has announced the release date and info for the soundtrack to “The Battle of the Five Armies.” On shelves and available for digital download December 9, the soundtrack encompasses music composed by Howard Shore and an original song by Billy Boyd (who played Peregrin Took from “The Lord Of The Rings”) appropriately titled “The Last Goodbye.” It will be released in standard and special editions (the latter will include two bonus tracks, as well as extended versions of five other tracks). Both editions are available for pre-order on iTunes and Amazon now, and you can check out the tracklists below.

So far, “The Hobbit” trilogy has been slightly underperforming “The Lord of the Rings” at the domestic box office, though in no way are the films a flop. Foreign audiences have been lapping the franchise up and global box office returns have been on par with, if not a tad higher than, their LOTR counterparts.

What’s your December looking like? Will you be there opening night?

“The Hobbit: The Battle Of The Five Armies” Soundtrack Tracklisting
Disc: 1
1. Fire and Water
2. Shores of the Long Lake
3. Beyond Sorrow and Grief (Extended Version)
4. Guardians of the Three (Extended Version)
5. The Ruins of Dale
6. The Gathering of the Clouds (Extended Version)
7. Mithril
8. Bred for War
9. A Thief in the Night
10. The Clouds Burst
11. Battle for the Mountain

Disc: 2
1. The Darkest Hour
2. Sons of Durin
3. The Fallen
4. Ravenhill
5. To the Death (Extended Version)
6. Courage and Wisdom
7. The Return Journey
8. There and Back Again
9. The Last Goodbye (Billy Boyd)
10. Ironfoot (Extended Version)
11. Dragon-sickness (Bonus Track)
12. Thrain (Bonus Track) [from The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug Extended Edition]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox