You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

The 7th Film in the “Star Wars” Franchise Will Be Titled…

The 7th Film in the "Star Wars" Franchise Will Be Titled...

Via the the Disney Pictures Twitter account, the title of the upcoming new “Star Wars” movie, will be “Star Wars: The Force Awakens;” assuming it doesn’t change before its release in late 2015.

Also mentioned in the tweet is that principal photography has been completed, meaning, about a year before the film opens (December 18, 2015), the lengthy post-production process (lots of visual effects, I’m sure) for it begins.

Directed by J.J. Abrams, the film is produced by Walt Disney Pictures, Lucasfilm, and Bad Robot Productions and distributed by Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures.

The seventh installment in the “Star Wars” film series was co-written by Abrams and Lawrence Kasdan, and stars John Boyega, Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, Oscar Isaac, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Max von Sydow, Lupita Nyong’o, and Gwendoline Christie, with Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, Mark Hamill, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew and Kenny Baker reprising their roles from previous films.

Principal photography lasted 7 long months – recall, they began shooting in May, in Abu Dhabi, and moved on to the UK’s Pinewood Studios. Some filming took place in Iceland.

So there you have it: “Star Wars: The Force Awakens” coming to a theater near you on December 18, 2015.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox