Back to IndieWire

Disney Orders Second Season of “The 7D”

Disney Orders Second Season of "The 7D"

Disney has some Christmas gifts for fans of “The 7D,” the animated series which takes a comedic look at the world of the Seven
Dwarfs.  A new holiday themed episode airs tonight… and the network has ordered a second season of the show. 

“The 7D” follows brave little heroes – Happy, Bashful, Sleepy, Sneezy, Dopey, Grumpy and Doc – as they work together to help the quirky Queen Delightful keep her kingdom in order. Standing in their way are comically inept villains Grim and Hildy Gloom, a novice warlock and witch couple, whose plots to overthrow the queen and rule Jollywood are continually foiled by the 7D. 

Tonight’s premiere episode “Gingersnaps and Grumpy Snaps / Jollybells”, debuts at 8:00 PM ET/PT.

“Gingersnaps and Grumpy Snaps” – Grumpy saves an elf named Gingersnap from drowning who in return, vows to act as Grumpy’s servant for the rest of his life. With guest star Cheri Oteri (“Saturday Night Live”) as Gingersnap. Exclusive clip below. 


“Jollybells” – Happy must figure out a plan to bring the holiday spirit back to the villagers of Jollywood after the Glooms drain the joy out of the town using a magical Joybuster device.

7D” currently airs daily on Disney XD in the U.S. and beginning Friday,
December 26, will air weekends during the Disney Junior block on Disney Channel.
The series is also set to debut in early 2015 on the Disney Junior

Returning for season two are series’ stars Kelly Osbourne (E’s “Fashion Police”) as Hildy Gloom; Jess Harnell (Disney Junior’s “Sofia the First” and “Doc McStuffins”) as Grim Gloom; Leigh-Allyn Baker (Disney Channel’s “Good Luck Charlie”) as Queen Delightful; Disney Legend Bill Farmer (the voice of Goofy) as Doc; Maurice LaMarche (“Pinky and the Brain”) as Grumpy; Kevin Michael Richardson (“The Cleveland Show”) as Happy; Dee Bradley Baker (Disney’s “Phineas and Ferb”) as Dopey; Scott Menville (“Teen Titans Go!”) as Sneezy; Stephen Stanton (Disney Junior’s “Doc McStuffins”) as Sleepy; Billy West (“Ren & Stimpy”) as Bashful and Paul Rugg (“Animaniacs”) as Lord Starchbottom.  Emmy Award winner Tom Ruegger (“Animaniacs,” “Tiny Toon Adventures”) is executive producer.

Sherri Stoner and
Deanna Oliver are co-story editors and Alfred Gimeno and Charles Visser are the
directors (all from “Tiny Toon Adventures”). Meme master Parry
Gripp (“Do You Like Waffles?”) is the songwriter and composer for the
series and also performs the theme song. 
Keith Horn (“Too Cool for Cupcakes”) is co-composer.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Television and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox