Back to IndieWire

European Film Awards Go to ‘Ida,’ Timothy Spall, Marion Cotillard

European Film Awards Go to 'Ida,' Timothy Spall, Marion Cotillard

The Polish black-and-white Polish Oscar entry won Best European film as well as directing, cinematography, screenplay and the People’s Choice awards for best film and directing. Last week “Ida” landed a Golden Globe nomination, along with Best European Film competitors “Force Majeure” and “Leviathan.”
Cannes best Actor winner Timothy Spall won Best Actor for the title role in Mike Leigh’s “Mr. Turner.” Marion Cotillard won Best Actress for Belgium Oscar entry “Two Days, One Night.” The EFAs have some impact on Oscar momentum; their last two winners, Italy’s “The Great Beauty” and Austria’s “Amour” also took home the Best Foreign Film Oscar.
Here are the EFA winners:

European Film
Ida, dir: Pawel Pawlikowski (Poland)
European Film Academy Lifetime Achievement
Agnès Varda
European Comedy
The Mafia Only Kills In Summer, dir: Pierfrancesco Diliberto (Italy)
European Actress
Marion Cotillard, Two Days, One Night (Belgium)
People’s Choice Award
Ida, dir: Pawel Pawlikowski (Poland)
European Director
Pawel Pawlikowski, Ida (Poland)
European Editor
Justine Wright, Locke (UK)
European Cinematographer
Lukasz Zal, Ryszard Lenczewski, Ida (Poland)
European Costume Designer
Natascha Curtius-Noss, The Dark Valley (Austria/Germany)
European Production Designer
Claus-Rudolf Amler, The Dark Valley (Austria/Germany)
European Composer
Mica Levi, Under The Skin (UK)
European Sound Designer
Joakim Sundström, Starred Up (UK)
European Actor
Timothy Spall, Mr Turner (UK)
European Co-Production Award 2014 – Prix Eurimages
Ed Guiney
European Animated Feature Film
The Art Of Happiness, dir: Alessandro Rak (Italy)
European Documentary
Master Of The Universe, dir: Marc Bauder (Germany/Austria)
European Screenwriter
Pawel Pawlikowski, Rebecca Lenkiewicz – Ida (Poland)
European Achievement in World Cinema
Steve McQueen
European Short Film
The Chicken, dir: Una Gunjak (Germany/Croatia)
European Discovery – FIPRESCI Prize
The Tribe, dir: Miroslav Slaboshpitsky (Ukraine)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox