Back to IndieWire

‘Song One’ Soundtrack Features Songs Written By Jenny Lewis, Tunes By Sharon Van Etten, Nina Simone, And More

'Song One' Soundtrack Features Songs Written By Jenny Lewis, Tunes By Sharon Van Etten, Nina Simone, And More

Jenny LewisRilo Kiley’s former frontwoman—has been everywhere this year. Her July album, The Voyager, was a critical hit, and she’s been busy touring the country ever since. No stranger to the screen (Lewis has performed on and for film and TV on multiple occasions, and voiced the assistant director in 2008’s “Bolt”), she co-wrote a number of songs with Johnathan Rice for the upcoming Anne Hathaway film, “Song One.”

Upon hearing of her brother’s hospitalization, Franny (Hathaway) returns home and winds up striking up a relationship with her comatose sibling’s favorite musician (played by Johnny Flynn). Though Flynn actually performs on-screen and on the soundtrack, his songs were largely written by Lewis and Rice. (The pair writes, performs, and is known collectively as Jenny and Johnny.)

Considering that “Song One” is a film about an indie musician, it’s no surprise that the music used in the film comes from great indie musicians (anything else would beg questioning). Pitchfork has details on the soundtrack, which, in addition to Jenny and Johnny, features songs performed by artists including, but not limited to, Sharon Van Etten, Nina Simone, Paul Whitty, Dan Deacon, and Ben Rosenfield.

This isn’t the first time Lewis and Hathaway have collaborated together, either. Hathaway (along with Kristen Stewart and Brie Larson) appeared in the video for Lewis’ hit single off The Voyager, “Just One of the Guys.”

The film is set for a limited release January 23rd. The soundtrack is due on shelves January 13th. Full tracklist below.

“Song One” Soundtrack Tracklisting
01 Johnny Flynn: “Bulb Went Black”
02 Felice Brothers: “Cumberland Gap”
03 Johnny Flynn: “In April”
04 Sharon Van Etten: “One Day”
05 Naomi Shelton & the Gospel Queens: “What Have You Done”
06 Johnny Flynn: “Iris, Instilled”
07 America: “I Need You”
08 Dan Deacon: “The Crystal Cat”
09 Johnny Flynn: “Big Black Cadillac”
10 Nina Simone: “My Baby Just Cares for Me”
11 Johnny Flynn: “Little Yellow Dress”
12 Paul Whitty: “O Leaozinho”
13 Ben Rosenfield: “Marble Song”
14 Johnny Flynn & Anne Hathaway: “Afraid of Heights”
15 Johnny Flynn: “Silver Song”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox