Back to IndieWire

The 2014 Black List Announces 70 Screenplays for 10th Annual Edition

The 2014 Black List Announces 70 Screenplays for 10th Annual Edition

Producers, take note. The annual Black List has been revealed.

The 10th annual list, announcing the year’s best in un-produced scripts, was chosen by a group of 250 development executives, agents and other insiders. Films featured on the list in previous years include Best Picture winners like “Slumdog Millionaire,” “Argo” and “The King”s Speech,” plus 2014 favorites like “Foxcatcher,” “Whiplash” and “The Imitation Game.”

This year’s announcements were made live via Twitter, with a YouTube link to a fellow industry vet or celebrity making each announcement. Participants included Reese Witherspoon, Elizabeth Banks, Daniel Radcliffe, David Oyelowo, Rashida Jones, Matthew Weiner, Ava Duvernay and Damien Chazelle.

Kristina Lauren Anderson’s screenplay, “Catherine the Great,” examines the rise of the notorious 18th century Russian monarch. The script was the top vote-getter, with 51 votes among the 70 scripts chosen for the 2014 Black List. 

The complete list is below, or available here in PDF form:
“Catherine the Great” by Kristina Lauren Anderson
“Morgan” by Seth W. Owen
“I am Ryan Reynolds” by Billy Goulston
“Gifted” by Tom Flynn
“Road to Oz” by Josh Golden
“The Founder” by Rob Siegel
“Wonka” by Jason Micallef
“Bird Box” by Eric Heisserer
“The Wall” by Dwain A Worrell
“In the Deep” by Anthony Jaswinski
“Beauty Pageant” by Shea Mirzai and Evan Mirzai
“My Friend” Dahmer by Marc Meyers
“In This, My Darkest Hour” by Bryan McMullin
“LBJ” by Joey Hartstone
“A Garden at the End of the World” by Gary Graham
“Plus One” by April Prosser
“The Shower” by Jac Schaeffer
“Rockingham” by Adam Morrison
“Rothchild” by John Patton Ford
“Bismarck” by Jared Cowie
“Possession: A Love Story” by Jack Stanley
“Manchester by the Sea” by Kenneth Lonergan
“Aether” by Krysty Wilson-Cairns
“North of Reno” by Banipal Ablakhad, Benhur Ablakhad
“The Man in the Rockefeller Suit” by David Bar Katz
“Shadow Run” by Joe Gazzam
“The Long Haul” by Dan Stoller
“Berliner” by F Scott Frazier
“On the Basis of Sex” by Daniel Stiepleman
“Everyone Wants Everything” by Abraham Higginbotham
“The Eden Project” by Christina Hodson
“Money Monster” by Alan DiFiore, Alan Rauf and Jamie Linden
“The Search by Spencer” Mondshein
“The Beautiful Game” by Zander Lehmann
“The Swimsuit Issue” by Randall Green
“The Wilde Ones” by Tyler Shields
“Erin’s Voice” by Greg Sullivan
“Blink” by Hernany Perla
“Black Winter” by Jonathan Stewart and Jake Crane
“Big Time Adolescence” by Jason Orley
“Echo” by Chris MacBride
“Beef” by Jeff Lock
“Syndrome (E)” by Mark Heyman
“Forgive Me” by Max Hurwitz
“Merc” by Andrew Bozalis and Derek Mether
“The Takeway” by Julia Cox
“The Munchkin” by Will Widger
“Matriarch” by Eric Koenig
“Uncle Shelby” by Brian Brown and Elliott DiGuiseppi
“The Defection” by Ken Nolan
“Mena” by Gary Spinelli
“Moonfall” by David Weil
“Tau” by Noga Landau
“Situation Comedy” by Cat Vasko
“Yellowstone Falls” by Daniel Kunka
“One Fell Swoop” by Greg Scharpf
“Dodge” by Scott Wascha
“Huntsville” by Anthony Ragnone
“Seducing Ingrid Bergman” by Arash Amel
“Boston Strangle”r by Chuck Maclean
“The Bringing” by Brandon Murphey and Philip Murphey
“The Secret Ingredients of Rockey Cola” by Mike Vukadinovich
“Jackpot” by Dave Callaham
“Cartoon Girl” by Randall Green
“The Cascade” by Kieran Fitzgerald
“Coffee & Kareem” by Shane McCarthy
“Celeritas by Kimberly Barrante
“In Real Time” by Chai Hecht

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox