Back to IndieWire

‘American Sniper’ Among Writers Guild Nomination Surprises

'American Sniper' Among Writers Guild Nomination Surprises

Winners will be presented at the 2015 Writers Guild Awards on Saturday, February 14, 2015 in Los Angeles and New York City.

As always, the Writers Guild’s eligibility requirements eliminate many indie, foreign and animated films from contention. It means that they won’t entirely match up with the eventual Oscar nominations, where such films as “Birdman,” “The Theory of Everything,” “Selma,” “The LEGO Movie” and “Mr. Turner” would be eligible. 

Yet again, a surprise inclusion is Clint Eastwood’s late-breaking mainstream hit “American Sniper,” which looks like a more and more likely Best Picture contender, given its nominations from the Art Directors, Editors and Producers far. “Foxcatcher” is also continuing to show strength, along with usual suspects “Boyhood,” “The Grand Budapest Hotel,” “Nightcrawler,” “Whiplash” and “Gone Girl.” 

Even with pedigreed screenwriters the Coen brothers on board, “Unbroken” was a WGA no-show. 

The nominees are:   

Boyhood, Written by Richard Linklater; IFC Films
Foxcatcher, Written by E. Max Frye and Dan Futterman; Sony Pictures Classics
The Grand Budapest Hotel, Screenplay by Wes Anderson; Story by Wes Anderson & Hugo Guinness; Fox Searchlight
Nightcrawler, Written by Dan Gilroy; Open Road Films
Whiplash, Written by Damien Chazelle; Sony Pictures Classics
American Sniper, Written by Jason Hall; Based on the book by Chris Kyle with Scott McEwen and Jim DeFelice; Warner Bros.
Gone Girl, Screenplay by Gillian Flynn; Based on her novel; 20th Century Fox
Guardians of the Galaxy, Written by James Gunn and Nicole Perlman; Based on the Marvel comic by Dan Abnett and Andy Lanning; Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures
The Imitation Game, Written by Graham Moore; Based on the book Alan Turing: The Enigma by Andrew Hodges; The Weinstein Company
Wild, Screenplay by Nick Hornby; Based on the book by Cheryl Strayed; Fox Searchlight
Finding Vivian Maier, Written by John Maloof & Charlie Siskel; Sundance Selects
The Internet’s Own Boy: The Story of Aaron Swartz, Written by Brian Knappenberger; FilmBuff
Last Days in Vietnam, Written by Mark Bailey & Kevin McAlester; American Experience Films
Red Army, Written by Gabe Polsky; Sony Pictures Classics

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox