Back to IndieWire

BAFTA Noms 2015: Shocks, Snubs, Surprises

BAFTA Noms 2015: Shocks, Snubs, Surprises

The BAFTAs always offer some clues to where the sizable British contingent of Oscar voters are leaning. There’s lots to choose from this year, with multiple Brit actors in contention as well as Best Picture contenders such as “The Imitation Game” and “The Theory of Everything,” as expected.

What were the most startling snubs of the nominations, announced yesterday via livestream? The Anglo-produced and directed “Mr. Turner” takes a big hit, picking up only four crafts nods for Production Design, Cinematography, Costume and Hair and Makeup. Angelina Jolie’s Unbroken” (save its BAFTA Rising Star Jack O’Connell) and Ava DuVernay’s “Selma” were nowhere to be found. It shouldn’t come as a shock that BAFTA didn’t honor “Selma,” a distinctly American story that will resonate powerfully in the US and likely among Academy voters (Chris Kyle war story “American Sniper,” coasting through award season, did land in the Adapted screenplay category). Also interesting: Steve Carell was shuttled to the Supporting Actor category for “Foxcatcher.”

But Euro-auteur Wes Anderson’s “The Grand Budapest Hotel” leads the way with 11 nominations. This just goes to show that “Budapest,” though not as widely circulated a Best Picture prediction, is right now very strong. Welcome surprises in the British Film of the Year category include “Under the Skin,” “Paddington” (which hasn’t hit US theaters yet) and the oft-snubbed “Pride.” Another unexpected pick? Finally, Rene Russo for Best Supporting Actress in “Nightcrawler,” a performance that has been overdue for recognition all season.

The EE British Academy Film Awards will take place on Sunday February 8 2015; they will be held for the ninth year running at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden. Sponsored by EE, and hosted by Stephen Fry, the Awards will be broadcast exclusively on BBC One and BBC One HD that evening, preceded by a red carpet show on BBC Three.

Best Film
“The Grand Budapest Hotel”
“Imitation Game”

“The Theory Of Everything”

Best Director
Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu – “Birdman”
Richard Linklater – “Boyhood”
Wes Anderson – “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
James Marsh – “The Theory Of Everything”
Damien Chazelle – “Whiplash”

Best Actor In A Leading Role
Benedict Cumberbatch – “The Imitation Game”
Ralph Fiennes – “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Jake Gyllenhaal – “Nightcrawler”
Michael Keaton – “Birdman”
Eddie Redmayne – “The Theory Of Everything”

Best Actress In A Leading Role
Amy Adams – “Big Eyes”
Felicity Jones – “The Theory Of Everything”
Julianne Moore – “Still Alice”
Rosamund Pike – “Gone Girl”
Reese Witherspoon – “Wild”

Best Actor In A Supporting Role

Steve Carell – “Foxcatcher”
Ethan Hawke – “Boyhood”
Edward Norton – “Birdman”
Mark Ruffalo – “Foxcatcher”
J.K. Simmons – “Whiplash”

Best Actress In A Supporting Role
Patricia Arquette – “Boyhood”
Keira Knightley – “The Imitation Game”
Rene Russo – “Nightcrawler”
Imelda Staunton – “Pride”
Emma Stone – “Birdman”

Best Original Screenplay
Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris Jr, Armando Bo – “Birdman
Richard Linklater – “Boyhood”
Wes Anderson & Hugo Guinness – “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Dan Gilroy – “Nightcrawler”
Damien Chazelle – “Whiplash”

Best Adapted Screenplay
Jason Hall – “American Sniper”
Gillian Flynn – “Gone Girl”
Graham Moore – “The Imitation Game”
Paul King – “Paddington”
Anthony McCarten – “The Theory Of Everything”

Outstanding British Film
“The Imitation Game”
“The Theory Of Everything”
“Under The Skin”

Best Documentary
“20 Feet From Stardom”
“20,000 Days On Earth”
“Finding Vivian Maier” 

EE Rising Star Award

Gugu Mbatha-Raw
Jack O’Connell
Margot Robbie
Miles Teller
Shailene Woodley

Outstanding Debut By A British Writer, Director Or Producer
Elaine Constantine – “Northern Soul” 
Gregory Burke, Yann DeMange – “’71”
Hong Khaou – “Lilting”
Paul Katis, Andrew De Lotbiniere – “Kajaki: The True Story”
Stephen Beresford, David Livingstone – “Pride”

Best Film Not In The English Language
“The Lunchbox”
“Two Days, One Night”

Best Animated Film
“Big Hero 6”
“The Boxtrolls”
“The Lego Movie”

Best Original Music
Antonio Sanchez – “Birdman”
Alexandre Desplat – “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Hans Zimmer – “Interstellar”
Johann Johannsson – “The Theory Of Everything”
Mica Levi – “Under The Skin”

Best Cinematography
Emmanuel Lubezki – “Birdman”
Robert Yeoman – “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Lukasz Zal, Ryzsard Lenczewski – “Ida”
Hoyte van Hoytema – “Interstellar”
Dick Pope – “Mr. Turner”

Best Editing
Douglas Crise, Stephen Mirrione – “Birdman”
Barney Pilling – “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
William Goldenberg – “The Imitation Game”
John Gilroy – “Nightcrawler”
Jinx Godfrey – “The Theory Of Everything”
Tom Cross – “Whiplash”

Best Production Design
Rick Heinrichs, Shane Vieau – “Big Eyes”
Adam Stockhausen, Anna Pinnock – “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Maria Djurkovic, Tatiana McDonald – “The Imitation Game”
Nathan Crowley, Gary Fettis – “Interstellar”
Suzie Davies, Charlotte Watts – “Mr. Turner”

Best Costume Design
Milena Canonero – “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Sammy Sheldon Differ – “The Imitation Game”
Colleen Atwood – “Into The Woods”
Jacqueline Durran – “Mr. Turner”
Steven Noble – “The Theory Of Everything”

Best Makeup and Hair
“The Grand Budapest Hotel”
“Guardians Of The Galaxy”
“Into the Woods”
“Mr. Turner”
“The Theory Of Everything”

Best Sound
“American Sniper”
“The Grand Budapest Hotel”
“The Imitation Game”

Best Special Visual Effects

“Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes”
“Guardians Of The Galaxy”
“The Hobbit: The Battle Of The Five Armies”
“X-Men: Days Of Future Past”

Best Short Film
“Boogaloo And Graham”
“Emotional Fusebox”
“The Karman Line”
“Three Brothers”

Best Short Animation
“The Bigger Picture”
“Monkey Love Experiments”
“My Dad”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox