Back to IndieWire

Gay and Lesbian Critics Go for Ava DuVernay, ‘The Comeback,’ ‘Transparent,’ Xavier Dolan and More

Gay and Lesbian Critics Go for Ava DuVernay, 'The Comeback,' 'Transparent,' Xavier Dolan and More

Good news for a few unsung films, series and actors today. “Selma” director Ava DuVernay may have gotten the Oscar snub, but she’s the Best Director of the year according to GALECA, who offer reprieve from the same old story of the 2014-2015 awards season.

While voters did select Oscar frontrunners “Boyhood” for Best Film, Julianne Moore for Best Actress in “Still Alice” and Eddie Redmayne of “The Theory of Everything” for Best Actor, other, more rebellious choices color the Dorian Awards winners list, naming Matthew Warchus’ wonderful, rousing “Pride” as the Best LGBTQ Film of the Year, and Xavier Dolan’s Academy-rejected “Mommy” as the Best Foreign Language Film.

Amazon’s Golden Globe-winning “Transparent,” from filmmaker turned series creator Jill Soloway, nabbed five prizes including TV Comedy of the year. Lisa Kudrow picked up the best TV actress award for her wickedly funny, iconic hot mess of a role in HBO’s “The Comeback.” It’s great to see another under-viewed HBO gem, “Getting On,” earning kudos here as well.

Nominees are listed here; full winners list below.

Film of the Year

Boyhood, director Richard Linklater

Film Performance of the Year – Actress

Eddie Redmayne, The Theory of Everything

Film Performance of the Year – Actress

Julianne Moore, Still Alice

Film Director of the Year

Ava DuVernay, Selma

LGBTQ Film of the Year


Foreign Language Film of the Year

Mommy, director Xavier Dolan

Unsung Film of the Year


Documentary of the Year (theatrical release, TV airing, or DVD release)

The Case Against 8 – HBO

Visually Striking Film of the Year (honoring a production of stunning beauty, from art direction to cinematography)

The Grand Budapest Hotel

Campy Flick of the Year

Into the Woods

TV Drama of the Year

The Normal Heart – HBO

TV Comedy of the Year

Transparent – Amazon

TV Director of the Year

Jill Soloway, Transparent

TV Performance of the Year – Actor

Jeffrey Tambor, Transparent

TV Performance of the Year – Actress

Lisa Kudrow, The Comeback

TV Musical Performance of the Year

Neil Patrick Harris, “Sugar Daddy,” The Tony Awards

LGBTQ TV Show of the Year


Unsung TV Show of the Year

Getting On – HBO

TV Current Affairs Show of the Year

The Daily Show with Jon Stewart

Campy TV Show of the Year

Jane the Virgin

Music Video of the Year

Sia, “Chandelier”

The “We’re Wilde About You!” Rising Star Award

Gina Rodriguez, Jane the Virgin

Wilde Wit of the Year (honoring a performer, writer or commentator whose observations both challenge and amuse)

John Oliver

Wilde Artist of the Year (honoring a truly groundbreaking force in the fields of film, theater, and/or television)

Jill Soloway

Timeless Award

George Takei

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox