Back to IndieWire

Sundance: Oksana Baiul, Acclaimed Director Don Hertzfeldt Featured Among Fest’s Short Film Awards

Sundance: Oksana Baiul, Acclaimed Director Don Hertzfeldt Featured Among Fest's Short Film Awards

“World of Tomorrow,” Don Hertzfeldt’s seventh film to play in competition at Sundance (a festival record), has been awarded the 2015 Short Film Grand Jury Prize, burnishing an already impressive resume that includes the Oscar-nominated animated short “Rejected” (2000). Jurors K.K. Barrett, Alia Shawkat, and Autumn de Wilde chose “World of Tomorrow,” in which “a little girl is
taken on a mind-bending tour of the distant future,” from 60 films in this year’s Short Film program, which was culled from more than 8,000 submissions.

Recipients will be among the honorees at Saturday’s awards ceremony, hosted by Tig Notaro and available to stream live at the festival’s website. Check out the full list of winners below, along with Hertzfeldt’s special guest appearance as writer, animator, and director of the first two minutes of the season premiere of “The Simpsons.”

Short Film Grand Jury
“World of Tomorrow” /
U.S.A. (Director and screenwriter: Don Hertzfeldt)

Short Film
Jury Award: U.S. Fiction
/ U.S.A. (Director and screenwriter: Frankie Shaw)

Short Film
Jury Award: International Fiction
Lucy!” / Japan, Singapore, U.S.A. (Director and screenwriter:
Atsuko Hirayanagi)

Short Film Jury Award:
“The Face of
Ukraine: Casting Oksana Baiul” / Australia (Director: Kitty

Short Film Jury Award:
“Storm hits jacket” /
France (Director and screenwriter: Paul Cabon)

Short Film Special Jury Award for
“Back Alley” / France
(Director and screenwriter: Cécile Ducrocq)

Short Film Special Jury Award for
Visual Poetry
/ Poland (Director: Paulina Skibińska)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox