Back to IndieWire

The National Society of Film Critics Love ‘Language’

The National Society of Film Critics Love 'Language'

They’ve gone foreign before, from the Taviani brothers’ “Night of the Shooting Stars” in 1983 to “Waltz With Bashir,” “Melancholia,” “Pan’s Labyrinth” and “Yi yi.” Distributor Kino Lorber has struggled to find arthouse cinemas equipped to screen the well-reviewed Godard film in 3-D: the L.A. run will start January 23 at the American Cinematheque’s Aero Theatre in Santa Monica. 
The Society zagged when other groups including the New York Film Critics Circle and the Los Angeles Film Critics Association went with current Oscar frontrunner “Boyhood.” According to Variety, “Boyhood” missed the number one spot by one point in the final balloting. The film did win best director Richard Linklater and supporting actress Patricia Arquette.
Also getting a much-needed critics’ boost was Mike Leigh’s “Mr. Turner,” starring Best Actor winner Timothy Spall as the great British landscape painter; the NSFC also awarded Dick Pope best cinematography.  

Wes Anderson landed the screenplay prize for “The Grand Budapest Hotel,” and Laura Poitras’ Edward Snowden documentary “Citizenfour” continues to sweep critics’ groups; it was the only winner on the first ballot.
The list of winners is below:

Picture: “Goodbye to Language” (25)

Runners-up: “Boyhood” (24); “Birdman” and “Mr. Turner” (tie, 10)Director: Richard Linklater, “Boyhood” (36)
Runners-up: Jean-Luc Godard, “Goodbye to Language” (17); Mike Leigh, “Mr. Turner” (12)
Actor: Timothy Spall, “Mr. Turner” (31)Runners-up: Tom Hardy, “Locke” (10); Ralph Fiennes, “The Grand Budapest Hotel,” and Joaquin Phoenix, “Inherent Vice” (tie, 9)
Actress: Marion Cotillard, “The Immigrant” and “Two Days, One Night” (80)
Runners-up: Julianne Moore, “Still Alice” (35); Scarlett Johansson, “Lucy” and “Under the Skin” (21)
Supporting actor: J.K. Simmons, “Whiplash” (24)
Runners-up: Mark Ruffalo, “Foxcatcher” (21); Edward Norton, “Birdman” (16)
Supporting actress: Patricia Arquette, “Boyhood” (26)
Runners-up: Agata Kulesza, “Ida” (18); Rene Russo, “Nightcrawler” (9)
Screenplay: Wes Anderson, “The Grand Budapest Hotel” (24)
Runners-up: Alejandro G. Inarritu, Nicolas Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris Jr., Armando Bo, “Birdman,” and Paul Thomas Anderson, “Inherent Vice” (tie, 15)
Nonfiction film: “Citizenfour” (56)
Runners-up: “National Gallery” (19); “The Overnighters” (17)
Cinematography: Dick Pope, “Mr. Turner” (33)
Runners-up: Darius Khondji, “The Immigrant” (27); Fabrice Aragno, “Goodbye to Language” (9)
Film Heritage: Ron Magliozzi and Peter Williamson, the Museum of Modern Art; Ron Hutchinson, the Vitaphone Project

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox