Back to IndieWire

‘True Detective,’ ‘Fargo’ Separated for 2015 PGA Nominations for TV

'True Detective,' 'Fargo' Separated for 2015 PGA Nominations for TV

Score one for the drama series. 

In the ongoing battle regarding the true status of HBO’s freshman drama series (or miniseries?) “True Detective,” the Producers Guild of America has taken the side preferred by the premium cable network, nominating the breakout program of 2014 as a nominee for Best Drama Series. Though most awards shows have taken the position first started at the Emmys, the Golden Globes notably relegated “True Detective” to the miniseries category, where it will face off with the similarly-structured — and equally adored — FX anthology series, “Fargo.”

Meanwhile, the Noah Hawley-created series will have new competition at the PGAs. Nominated as one of five Best Long Form Television contenders, “Fargo” will go up against “The Normal Heart,” “Sherlock,” “The Roosevelts” and fellow FX series “American Horror Story.” 

Other contenders in the drama series category include “Game of Thrones,” “House of Cards,” “Downton Abbey” and “Breaking Bad” — the latter of which is still eligible due to the PGA’s wonky deadline calendar. “Breaking Bad” won last year, and the rest of the nominees remained the same as those from 2014, except for “True Detective” taking the spot previously held by “Homeland.” 

Comedy nominees include “Veep,” “Orange is the New Black,” “Modern Family,” “Louie” and “The Big Bang Theory.” The list saw turnover in two spots, as last year’s inclusions of “30 Rock” and “Arrested Development” were no longer eligible. That left room for “Orange is the New Black” and “Louie” to slip in this year.

The PGA will also be handing out a special honor to the HBO film “The Normal Heart” at this year’s ceremony. For a full list of the 2015 TV nominations, please see below before clicking over to Thompson on Hollywood for the film nominees.

The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama:

Breaking Bad (AMC)
Producers: Melissa Bernstein, Sam Catlin, Bryan Cranston, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Mark Johnson, Stewart Lyons, Michelle MacLaren, George Mastras, Diane Mercer, Thomas Schnauz, Moira Walley-Beckett

Downton Abbey (PBS)
Producers: Julian Fellowes, Nigel Marchant, Gareth Neame, Liz Trubridge

Game Of Thrones (HBO)
Producers: David Benioff, Bernadette Caulfield, Frank Doelger, Chris Newman, Greg Spence, Carolyn Strauss, D.B. Weiss

House Of Cards (Netflix)
Producers: Dana Brunetti, Joshua Donen, David Fincher, David Manson, Iain Paterson, Eric Roth, Kevin Spacey, Beau Willimon

True Detective (HBO)
Producers: Richard Brown, Carol Cuddy, Steve Golin, Woody Harrelson, Cary Joji Fukunaga, Matthew McConaughey, Nic Pizzolatto, Scott Stephens

The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy:

The Big Bang Theory (CBS)
Producers: Faye Oshima Belyeu, Chuck Lorre, Steve Molaro, Bill Prady

Louie (FX)
Producers: Pamela Adlon, Dave Becky, M. Blair Breard, Louis C.K., Vernon Chatman, Adam Escott, Steven Wright

Modern Family (ABC)
Producers: Paul Corrigan, Megan Ganz, Abraham Higginbotham, Ben Karlin, Elaine Ko, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Jeff Morton, Dan O’Shannon, Jeffrey Richman, Chris Smirnoff, Brad Walsh, Bill Wrubel, Sally Young, Danny Zuker

Orange Is The New Black (Netflix)
Producers: Mark A. Burley, Sara Hess, Jenji Kohan, Gary Lennon, Neri Tannenbaum, Michael Trim, Lisa I. Vinnecour

Veep (HBO)
Producers: Chris Addison, Simon Blackwell, Christopher Godsick, Armando Iannucci, Stephanie Laing, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Frank Rich, Tony Roche

The television nominees are:

The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television:

The Long-Form Television category encompasses both movies of the week and mini-series. 

American Horror Story: Freak Show (FX)
Producers: Brad Buecker, Dante Di Loreto, Brad Falchuk, Joseph Incaprera, Alexis Martin Woodall, Tim Minear, Ryan Murphy, Jennifer Salt, James Wong
Fargo (FX)
Producers: Adam Bernstein, John Cameron, Ethan Coen, Joel Coen, Michael Frislev, Noah Hawley, Warren Littlefield, Chad Oakes, Kim Todd

The Normal Heart (HBO)
Producers: Jason Blum, Dante Di Loreto, Scott Ferguson, Dede Gardner, Alexis Martin Woodall, Ryan Murphy, Brad Pitt, Mark Ruffalo

The Roosevelts: An Intimate History (PBS)
Producers:  To Be Determined

Sherlock (PBS)
Producers: Mark Gatiss, Steven Moffat, Beryl Vertue, Sue Vertue

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television:

30 For 30 (ESPN)
Producers: Andy Billman, John Dahl, Erin Leyden, Connor Schell, Bill Simmons

American Masters (PBS)
Producers: Susan Lacy, Julie Sacks, Junko Tsunashima

Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown (CNN)
Producers:  Anthony Bourdain, Christopher Collins, Lydia Tenaglia, Sandra Zweig

COSMOS: A SpaceTime Odyssey (FOX/NatGeo)
Producers: Brannon Braga, Mitchell Cannold, Jason Clark, Ann Druyan, Livia Hanich, Steve Holtzman, Seth MacFarlane

Shark Tank (ABC)
Producers: Becky Blitz, Mark Burnett, Bill Gaudsmith, Phil Gurin, Yun Lingner, Clay Newbill, Jim Roush, Laura Roush, Max Swedlow

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television:

The Colbert Report (Comedy Central)
Producers: Meredith Bennett, Tanya Michnevich Bracco, Stephen Colbert, Richard Dahm, Paul Dinello, Barry Julien, Matt Lappin, Emily Lazar, Tom Purcell, Jon Stewart

Jimmy Kimmel Live (ABC)
Producers: David Craig, Ken Crosby, Doug DeLuca, Gary Greenberg, Erin Irwin, Jimmy Kimmel, Jill Leiderman, Molly McNearney, Tony Romero, Jason Schrift, Jennifer Sharron, Seth Weidner, Josh Weintraub

Last Week Tonight With John Oliver (HBO)
Producers: Tim Carvell, John Oliver, Liz Stanton

Real Time With Bill Maher (HBO)
Producers: Scott Carter, Sheila Griffiths, Marc Gurvitz, Dean Johnsen, Bill Maher, Billy Martin, Matt Wood

The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon (NBC)
Producers: Rob Crabbe, Jamie Granet Bederman, Katie Hockmeyer, Jim Juvonen, Josh Lieb, Brian McDonald, Lorne Michaels, Gavin Purcell
The following programs were previously announced in late 2014. They were not vetted for producer eligibility this year, but winners in these categories will be announced at the official ceremony on January 24th:

The Award for Outstanding Sports Program:

Ø  24/7 (HBO)

Ø  Hard Knocks: Training Camp With The Atlanta Falcons (HBO)

Ø  Hard Knocks: Training Camp With The Cincinnati Bengals (HBO)

Ø  Inside: U.S. Soccer’s March To Brazil (ESPN)

Ø  Real Sports With Bryant Gumbel (HBO)

The Award for Outstanding Children’s Program:

Ø  Dora The Explorer (Nickelodeon)

Ø  Sesame Street (PBS)

Ø  Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (Nickelodeon)

Ø  Toy Story OF TERROR! (ABC)

Ø  Wynton Marsalis: A YoungArts Masterclass (HBO)

The Award for Outstanding Digital Series:

Ø  30 For 30 Shorts (http://espn.go.com/30for30/shorts)

Ø  Comedians In Cars Getting Coffee (http://www.crackle.com/c/comedians-in-cars-getting-coffee)

Ø  COSMOS: A National Geographic Deeper Dive (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AkiFfAEB5M8)

Ø  Epic Rap Battles Of History (http://youtube.com/erb)

Ø  Video Game High School Season 3 (https://www.youtube.com/user/freddiew)

READ MORE: AFI Snubs ‘True Detective’ for Top 10 2014 TV Honors In Favor of ‘The Knick’ & ‘Silicon Valley’

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Television and tagged , , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox